Skip to content

Look for the rainbow!

October 1, 2010

We have been having the weirdest weather in Southern California the past day or two. I’m loving it though. On my way to work this morning it was sunny with a few scattered puffy white clouds. And then I saw a rainbow in the clouds. And saw lightning! (which is weird when it’s sunny out!) and heard thunder! Next it starts raining big scattered raindrops, but it was still sunny out and the sky above was pretty clear. It was like the rain was coming out of nowhere! Reminded me of the time we were in Lafayette, Indiana for a counseling conference. It was a beautiful, sunny day and then it started snowing, while it was still bright and sunny out and there were no clouds.

Yesterday was warm and the breeze turned our backyard into a giant leaf pile! After dinner at the missions conference, the kids were all talking about the sky so I went out to see and it was gorgeous! There was a huge rainbow across the orange-ish sky, and there were strange looking clouds stretched out overhead. All during the drive home afterwards, the sky was lit up with lightning. Made me feel like I was in Colorado Springs! I love watching lightning, which makes me laugh since I hated it as a kid. I thought it was going to get me!

The two rainbows I saw in the clouds, combined with the amazingly awesome sunset we had on Wednesday (stunning pink clouds and a beautiful orange and pink sky, as well as rain falling in the distance) made me think about how the clouds make the sky so beautiful. We often think of clouds as a bad thing. They block out the sun, they bring dreary, rainy days. People don’t usually say “it was such a beautiful, cloudy day!” They usually smile more when they say it was a sunny day. Often we refer to clouds metaphorically when we speak of bad things in people’s lives. But the clouds bring so much beauty! Even in our lives when we have bad or “cloudy” days, there can always be a “rainbow” found in the “clouds. I almost missed the rainbow that I saw this morning. I was sitting at a red light, had my window rolled down, and was just enjoying the beautiful weather, and admiring the clouds in front of me, when I started looking at the sky all around me, and off to my left I saw the rainbow. I’m glad I didn’t miss it, it made me smile all the way to work.

So…if you have a cloudy day today, don’t forget to look for the rainbow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 3:12 pm

    Great thought! Saw some photos of the rainbows/clouds/lightning on the internet.

  2. Becka permalink
    October 1, 2010 3:55 pm

    I love thunderstorms! And the analogy about clouds in your life was excellent. 🙂

Leave a Reply

