Skip to content

Burn a Koran Day

September 8, 2010

I miss school.

This morning as my brother rushed off to class, I thought back fondly on my own college experience. And I miss it.

I miss the intellectual stimulation and the chance to debate different ideas. I mostly miss that last part. I love debates. I love the chance to think critically about a topic and to toss around ideas of why something is right or wrong. Even if I don’t stand passionately on one side or the other, I love picking a side and debating it. I remember in Dr. Cantrell’s classes when we would divide the class in half and debate our position and try to get others to agree with us and come over on our side. I loved that. I love being challenged with opposing viewpoints and looking at different arguments and being forced to think critically on topics I might not otherwise think about.

Love it.

I was thinking of this on the way to work as I listened to talk radio and they were talking about the latest “Burn a Koran Day” buzz. They weren’t so much talking about political fallout or international impact as they were just debating whether it was right nor not. One caller was saying that Islam is an evil religion and the lady (whoever it even was, she wasn’t the host) was saying “Really? You really believe that?” And I was thinking “it’s not politically correct to say that Islam is evil, and that it is so “insensitive” to say that by our way of thinking today.” But in essence, it is true. It might not be “inclusive” to say that. But a religion that is leading people to Hell is in essence evil. Is it right to burn the Koran? We do live in a free country and I am not sure exactly what I think (wishing I could debate it right now and come to a definite conclusion after looking at various aspects!!) =)  but it’s interesting how this gains so much media attention, yet practically no one would cover it if it was “Burn a Bible” day. The way we bend over backwards to keep from offending Muslims in this country, but not Christians, is so maddening.

Anyways….just some of my thoughts this morning =)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    September 9, 2010 8:28 am

    I was listening to this on the radio this morning too. And they were saying that to tell them that they “can’t” is basically unconstitutional because of freedom of religion. But, like you, I don’t really know what I think about it. Of course, I disagree with the Koran and the Muslim religion, but….yeah, not sure where I stand about burning their religious book. Though, I agree with the whole, “practically no one would cover it if it was ‘Burn a Bible’ day” bit. 🙂

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    September 9, 2010 10:16 am

    Just had this emailed to me. =)

    http://www.onenewsnow.com/Culture/Default.aspx?id=1160612

Leave a Reply

