Skip to content

The weekend’s here again? Already?

August 20, 2010

Ahhhh, life. It’s….interesting! I feel like I have been clinging to an express train, barely hanging on, as it barrels down the tracks, these past few days.

Then…the weekend’s here! Again? Didn’t we just do the weekend like yesterday? Yeah, it’s been going by that fast!

What I wouldn’t give for a week of nothing. Seriously. Just work and sleep. Sounds…wonderful. Or even better, no work. Just sleep. Perfect!

Yesterday there were so many fun things happening I could hardly keep track of it all. I love days like that. Why do bad things or good things seem to dump/be showered on you all at once? It’s like they are attracted to each other and all tag along for the party. (Okay, I could point out that maybe one good thing tends to brighten our day and so we tend to look upon everything else that day through rose-colored glasses, and vice versa, but seriously though…)

It started with actually winning something for like the first time ever in my life. No, seriously, I never, ever win things. So I guess it was just time. Finally! I won a nice gift basket at a work meeting, and that was fun. But even before that, we started the meeting with Chipotle. How awesome is that? I had expected cookies and water (because we’re cheap like that, and because coworkers who had attended the same meeting previously had reported such grim findings) So to get chips, salsa, sour cream, guacamole (which I love more than pretty much anything on this planet) and insanely huge burritos, PLUS the aforementioned cookies and water, I was pretty much in food heaven. Sign me up for any meeting you like, so long as there is Mexican food, I will come.

And another super nice, and half-unexpected (although certainly prayed-for) blessing was getting a notice in the mail that my parking ticket had been dismissed. Yay! Okay, I have gotten one ticket in my life, and that was in Milwaukee where the cops are….to put it nicely, legendary. Not that I am bitter or anything, and not that I feel it was undeserved….but um, okay, yeah, I do. And not like this was a day after going to Chicago in which I pretty much spent my entire savings in one night, but a night in which I got to see Zaz so it was ok. So, paying over 200.00 for a ticket wasn’t exactly in the budget at that moment, but…like I said, not bitter, but wow, we’re getting way off track.

Okay, so yeah, I never get tickets. Usually. And I always follow the rules. (Unlike…a certain parking enforcement officer I know, who will park in 20 minute parking even though he knows he will spend much more time there.) Really, I do. Except for this one time when I listened to some evil, bad, people (kidding) and parked in a cross-hatch section at the beach because there was no other parking. And yeah, won’t be trying that again. But, my ticket wasn’t for that. It was for not paying beach parking, which in all honesty I never saw. So I paid it and then kindly requested that they dismiss the ticket. And thankfully they did.

And that was the cherry on the top of my very nice day. Even hearing from a boy I do not want to hear from couldn’t ruin my happy day. (Why do I call all men “boys”? I don’t know, I guess it makes me feel old to say “men.” I am not old enough to date “men”, only “boys” lol. Okay, yes, I am officially weird. But you knew that.

And, yay, for the weekend!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:24 pm

    Milwaukee cops are..legendary. I’m just sayin’. Actually, come to think of it, it’s all Wisconsin cops. For some reason, they have nothing better to do than to give out tickets. At least you didn’t get pulled over IN THE SCHOOL PARKING LOT where every one of your friends (and not friends) can see you, and the security guard comes over to make sure everything is okay. Thankfully, I got just a warning for that one. And really, he coudln’t blame me, I was going down a very large hill. Of course, “large hill” is a term that can be debated, but you won’t tell anyone, will you?

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    August 20, 2010 1:28 pm

    Yeah no, you’re right, it is all WI cops. Sigh. Haha, I forgot about that. Well, at least you didn’t get pulled over for TAILGATING a cop. Haha. Fun times.

  3. Antonia permalink
    August 22, 2010 1:56 pm

    Memories – I actually got pulled over on White right across the street from the church – there was no mercy. Did you get your money back as well?

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    August 23, 2010 10:20 am

    Awww, Tonia. =( Well, I hadn’t paid the ticket yet since I was still contesting it….

Leave a Reply

