Skip to content

Yao Ming is staying at my house. Or…My house is now a zoo.

July 23, 2010

My house has always been a zoo. 4 boys = zoo. But on the smallish side. More like a petting zoo of sorts. (let’s not drag that analogy out any, just take it at face value mmmkay?) But we’ve come a long way since then and I think I can safely say we have now arrived full force at “wild animal park” status now. Or full fledged zoo status, whichever you prefer.

It started innocently enough, I’m sure.  One here, one there. But now? Now at night when I hear 8 Chinese boys slurping spaghetti in surround sound fashion, I think “yep, we have arrived and there is no going back now.”  We are Scottish and yep, ‘nough said.

My brothers are even getting in on the action! I was mildly amused and surprised when I heard that my brother was getting his own exchange students. [Shaking my head in bewilderment] How exactly does that work? But when I found out how much money he was making, I gasped.

Do you know what I had to do to get that kind of money in one fell swoop? I had to sell my hair. My HAIR! The hair that took me four long years to grow out. The hair that I was fiercely attached to. The hair that some chic chick in London is wearing on her head right this very moment!….sniff sniff.

Pause.

Speaking of….that is a very weird thought. I hadn’t reflected on that idea much since it happened a year ago, but my mind wanders across the pond to my favoritest city of all. London. That gorgeous, bustling, fascinating city. And a redhead walking down the street. She looks familiar. She turns. Okay, so she doesn’t look familiar after all. But her hair! Her hair looks familiar. I look closer. It’s MY hair. Hey lady, you like being a redhead now? I hope you are enjoying it as much as I did! Hope you get lots of compliments and

Yeah, like I said, it’s a weird thought. Part of me will always be in London. Unless of course she moves but…I prefer to think my hair will always be in London. Some people leave their hearts in San Francisco? Yeah, well, I left my hair in London so….take that!

Okay, back to reality. I immediately started scheming. “Put a kid in my room when I’m gone in Alaska! Do it! Do it!” Let’s cram them in everywhere! I mean, I could earn half a trip to Europe in two easy schmeasy weeks? Sign me UP! Do it!

I’m cracking.

But back to Yao Ming. One of them has been dubbed Yao Ming, and I am not sure why. My mom decided to call him that, and of course they all thought it was funny. But for the life of me I can’t keep all of them straight. I do know which one is Ben. The chunkiest of the group, so of course he is “Big Ben” and any reference to my favorite city makes it easy to remember. I don’t think others call him that, but in my mind he will always be Big Ben.

I thought it would be a great idea to call them ALL Yao Ming, then it’s easy. But apparently that didn’t fly.

Anyways… feel free to stop by anytime. “There’s always room for more” is the new motto. =)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 10:32 am

    Sounds like a busy place! Our older son was called Yao Ming at basketball camp too.

  2. Becka permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:44 am

    lol This post was awesome. Loved the “walking around with my hair part.” And your brother is seriously taking in his OWN foreign exchange students? Hilarious! Post like this seriously make me miss hanging out at your house. 😉

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    July 26, 2010 9:48 am

    That’s so funny Lisa! I guess basketball camp is a good place to be called Yao Ming! =)

    Aww Beck, I miss you hanging out here too. Yes, he is. Technically not much has “changed’ but somehow he is getting the money. Trying to figure out how that works and how I can get it on it. (okay, he did give up his room, but still…)

  4. Kelli permalink
    July 26, 2010 9:54 am

    Try 10 in one house w/ my 3 kids….NO WAIT….It’s over…I prefer not to think of that 2 weeks again.

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    July 26, 2010 9:58 am

    @ Kelli, yeah, I bet it was crazy! We actually do have ten students too when you count the Saudi Arabian and his cousin who has since moved in (a few weeks ago) as well. But at least they are split between two houses. It’s still crazy though when they all come up to eat…And I am in charge of dinner all this week. Yay! =) Heather and I should get together and do potlucks for all of them. 😉

Leave a Reply

