Skip to content

Lesson Learned

June 27, 2010

Some of life’s best lessons involve chocolate.

Or maybe just some of life’s best involves chocolate…

Either way, I learned an important lesson this past week when I got the bright idea that I would attempt to make truffles (this in response to my sudden craving of them)

Now…would I at that moment have gone to the chocolate store and spent $13.00 to satisfy that craving?

Of course not. $3.50 at Pinkberry is a splurge for me these days =) (Although $13.00 for truffles really isn’t that much – I won’t say how much I spent in Belgium!!)

But would I stop by the grocery store and drop $13.00 to buy the ingredients to make those truffles?

Oh yeah.

Does that any make sense? Nope.

And many hours later when I was staying up late to coat them it really wasn’t making sense.

Why did I do this again?

Oh, right, I wanted to eat them.

This was my first attempt at making the easiest kind of truffles you can make. And I was getting increasingly more frustrated the later it got.

For some reason the chocolate was seizing up (I think that is what was happening, at any rate it wasn’t dripping off the truffles anymore, it was just getting all goopy and clumpy)

This. Was. NOT. a. Good. Idea.

I. Just. Wasted. My. Whole. Night. And. $13.00. And. They. Didn’t. Turn. Out. And. They. Look. Ugly. UGLY!

Grrr. Not the happiest moment of the day.

My mother came home and suggested “Next time you could…”

THERE WON’T BE A NEXT TIME!! Ever. Truffles are EVIL!

I stuck them in the fridge anyways and went to bed.

But when I woke up the next morning, I discovered that a truffle fairy had snuck into the fridge and replaced all my ugly, clumpy truffles with fairly smooth, yummy looking truffles (apparently she was still learning too since they weren’t completely smooth).

I tasted one.

YUM!

What happened overnight in that fridge anyways?

I may never know.

But I do know this.

If something isn’t working out right, and I want to give up, I will stick it in the fridge overnight. Because apparently we have a magic refrigerator.

Or a cool fairy.

This isn't the best looking picture but that's what happens when you wait until they are almost gone to decide to take a picture. There really were better looking ones than these.

The end.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    June 28, 2010 10:43 am

    I want one. Yummm… I also want a magic refrigerator!

  2. Jay permalink
    June 29, 2010 5:23 pm

    They look fine. What kind of chocolate did you use? What was seizing, the ganache to make the actual truffles or the coating?

    Props to you for giving it a go.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    June 30, 2010 11:57 am

    You come visit and I’ll make you some, Beck =)

    Ghirardelli semi-sweet to coat them, Hershey Cocoa Powder to dust, but no ganache – I don’t have that much patience!! =) These are cheater truffles, Oreo/cream cheese filling. =)

Leave a Reply

