Skip to content

Halfway through June already?

June 17, 2010

I can’t believe that June is half over! And summer camp is in 2 1/2 weeks. I don’t feel mentally prepared! I didn’t realize how quickly the summer would sneak up on me. This year has been so packed that time has been really flying by.  I keep saying “next year will be slower.” But in reality, each year gets busier and busier! It’s really nice to have a job that lets me take so much time off! (Maybe it helps that I don’t dump it on them all at once.  Maybe they don’t realize that I am taking seven weeks off. =)

Yay for summer though! I can’t believe it’s here already but it will be fun.

Coming up in August: Alaska Wilderness Missions Survivor Trip (okay, that’s what I’m calling it – I’ve never seen Survivor so that might not be a relevant label but it sorta sounds like it might be) Growing up with four brothers you’d think I wouldn’t be such a wimp when it comes to things like camping. But to be honest, I don’t think I have ever been “camping” before.

Unless you count pitching a tent in the backyard and having sleepovers with a ton of girlfriends. And being able to go inside to use the bathroom.

Yeah, probably doesn’t count.

But that is the extent of my “camping” experience. There is always a bathroom in sight. I take a shower every morning, and sometimes at night too.

So yes, I am wondering if I will survive. I wonder things like “how will we brush our teeth?” (please tell me we can do this still!) and “can we take showers?” and “how in the world will we use the bathroom for…things other than say… “baths”…and…do we have to walk a mile to do so? in the dark? with bears?

Like I said, yes, I am a wimp and I can admit it.

I will survive! I will! I will! I will! (they say if you repeat a lie often enough you start to believe it…)

Okay, I think we are only “camping” one night. But still. That’s still one day without a bathroom! =) A very loooooong day.

(Allow me to indulge in freaking out a bit here since I can’t do this in front of the teens (even though they will read this anyways)  Rule number one in teen trips: never let them see you freak out.  Um, okay, yeah, something like that.) Unless there is a bear. Then all the rules go out the window and you run. And scream. And holding hands might even be okay at this point (although from what I hear I think the girls would rather be eaten by a bear than hold hands with any of the guys going on this trip.  I really don’t see why that is,  girls.) =)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    June 17, 2010 2:25 pm

    1. Camping in your backyard does not count (although it is great fun).
    2. As long as you have any kind of water, you can still brush your teeth.
    3. The term “bathroom” is subjective. It depends where you’re camping. It might mean a bush.
    4. Counselors are obviously allowed to climb into rafters of cabins if there is really a bear. (Remember camp? – or winter camp? I just know we were at some kind of camp)
    5. Sorry to break this to you, but screaming and holding hands won’t help in the event of a bear attack.
    6. The term “bear” can also be used loosely. I seem to recall a “bear” in your backyard once. He did “bear” a slight resemblance to Pastor though…

  2. Antonia permalink
    June 17, 2010 2:36 pm

    Becka wasn’t #4 at Ironwood? I remember it somewhat?

  3. Becka permalink
    June 17, 2010 2:41 pm

    I think #4 was at Verdugo Pines. 😉

  4. June 17, 2010 3:05 pm

    #4 was at Verdugo Pines and it was my counselor who was climbing into the rafters… and the “bear” that time ended up being a bucket, nylon rope, and latex gloves… The term “bathroom” could mean bathrooms like the ones at Greeley Hills, or a bush like Becka said 🙂 Our youth group goes tent camping every year for 3 days, but our bathrooms are like the ones at Greeley Hills! 🙂

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    June 17, 2010 3:20 pm

    lol Beck, I remember =) Fun times camping in the backyard and being visited by bears =)

    Yep, Verdugo Pines, and I always laugh at the mental image of # 4. Seriously. lol

    I can do “Greely Hills” style bathrooms any day over a bush! =) Mirrors, showers, toilets, yep, those are all good things.

    Yeah, I think Mr. Mason was the “bear” at camp right? Or was it Craig?

  6. Sarah Archer permalink
    June 18, 2010 11:21 am

    LoL…Holding hands is what would get us eaten! The reason Jay takes girls on these trips is to protect the boys. In the case of a bear, however, I think it would be every man for himself, which means we would probably be coming home a few boys short! 🙂

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    June 18, 2010 11:30 am

    Haha Sarah, that made me laugh =)
    Awww, poor boys. =(
    lol

  8. nurseseekingamission permalink
    June 22, 2010 6:32 am

    Jen you always make me laugh, glad to hear you are having a good summer. I miss you lots. I hope you continue to have a great summer.

  9. June 23, 2010 3:27 pm

    This summer is going fast! You are brave to go camping. Last summer our older son went camping. We went to visit the campers for a day but at night stayed in a hotel. Guess we are not camping types either. : )

Leave a Reply

