Skip to content

Updating!

June 9, 2010

Thought I would take a minute between making dinner, cleaning up, and bday shopping to update this neglected blog! I think I have 20 mins till my shopping partner is home so here we go!

Last weekend was San Diego. Ladies’ conference. Visiting Tom. Church. That was pretty much what we did. Well, without all the details. (This is the guy version) But  I will put up some pics.

BBQ place that I was promised was "way better than Famous Dave's." We waited in line for over an hour to get in. And I was not impressed. =( And not sure why the line was so insanely long.

All of us. This was the first of two times on this trip that someone spilled their ice water on me...lol. You haven't had nachos till you've had soggy Filiberto nachos...mmmmm...

Blurry view from the church's rooftop. The view really was nice up there.

View from our hotel. I felt like we were right on the beach.

So that was last weekend. It was fun to see Tom and several others that I knew down at Canyon Ridge.

Random moment here but my eye has been insanely bloodshot the past few days and it really hurts. Just in case anyone was wondering. =)

Okay, so tonight I gave stuffed chicken another chance and tried it again using a different recipe. It sounded good, so I made it. And I was disappointed yet again. So I give up on stuffed chicken. The filling was good, but the chicken itself didn’t impress me. =( I normally forget to take pics when I cook, but I actually thought of it today – since the camera was already in the kitchen for puppy pics.

Have you ever made any stuffed chicken recipe? It takes like forever to pound the chicken until it’s 1/4 an inch thick – and I can never get it that thin. If I ever made it again I would probably put it in a bag and drive over it. Seriously, pounding it takes forever. Anyhow, I’m not making it again so no worries.  I did find two yummy new recipes recently that we liked so I was happy. =) One was a chicken, balsamic vinaigrette, cream cheese, cherry tomato and sugar snap pea recipe (yum) and another was a creamy pasta primavera recipe. I used to use Campbells Soup website recipes, but my latest ones have come from the Kraft magazine (love it!!)

Spinach-stuffed chicken. Kinda gross looking I guess.

Off to bday shop =)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    June 10, 2010 11:05 am

    Your uncle seems to looking even more like your dad. 🙂

    I think your pic of the food looks good.

    Lol about driving over the chicken. Too funny. If you ever do that, you HAVE to video it. lol

    And I was wondering about your eye – really. 😉

  2. Jay permalink
    June 12, 2010 8:47 pm

    Yeah, Phil’s is huge down in America’s Finest City, but the jury seems to be out as far as food critics are concerned. San Diegans know their seafood and tacos, BBQ not so much. According to their website, they don’t actually smoke their meats, which is not BBQ for purists. At least they grill their ribs over mesquite, which might make them somewhat tasty. Good to hear you’ve got discerning BBQ taste! Just out of morbid curiosity I’m gonna give them a try someday.

    The stuffed chicken doesn’t look bad at all. What did you use to pound it flat? A rubber mallet and plastic wrap works well.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    June 13, 2010 8:56 pm

    Thanks Beck =)
    Jay – I’m guessing you won’t be that impressed with Phil’s, but I guess since I (obviously) didn’t try everything on the menu…there might be some better things. =) Their baked beans were good…fries reminded me of upgraded In-N-Out fries…but the tri tip sandwich I had had WAY too much sauce (imo) and I didn’t like the flavor of either the meat or the sauce.
    I used a ziplock storage bag and a wooden mallet – but I don’t think it’s exactly the right kind for pounding chicken (it’s flat on the bottom)

Leave a Reply

