Skip to content

Cruise News

April 25, 2010

Last week a group of ladies from my church went on a short cruise/retreat down to Mexico. It took me 26 years, but I finally made it to Mexico! 🙂 And I think that was enough of Mexico for me. But okay I’m getting ahead of myself.

We left port in Long Beach Monday evening and arrived at Catalina Island on Tuesday morning (well, probably actually late Monday night). Whoever says that you “won’t even feel like you are on a ship” is…wrong. You could feel almost every movement, lowering anchor, raising anchor, etc. I didn’t feel sick until our last day (the day at sea when we were just out there floating around) but found a nice remedy by sitting in the back of the conference room with Renae and looking out the window. While we were back there we saw several dolphins leaping out of the water and following the ship for a while. That was neat! Sadly I had left my camera back in our stateroom and never again saw any dolphins. 😦

Catalina was not what I expected. It was cute, but there wasn’t much to do and after a few hours, an ice cream cone, a trolley tour, some shopping, and a Von’s stop, we headed back to the ship to avoid the coming rain.

Our next port was at Ensenada, Mexico and that wasn’t what I expected either! I thought that at least being a port city it would be somewhat nice. But it was very dirty, run down and incredibly poor (by appearance at least). Several of us took the tour over to see the blowhole (La Bufadora) and that was fun. The water was beautiful down there, it looked like the water in Maui. The blowhole was neat to see. There would be a loud rumbling noise and then water would come shooting up through the hole and rain down on you if you were too close. I guess there are only 3 of these blowholes in the world, I forget where the other ones are.

Since our cruise was also a ladies conference for our church, we had sessions with Mrs. Pryde every day and those were fun. Mrs. Wilson brought her piano and we sang, had skits, games, and of course a lesson. I think everyone had a lot of fun and it was a nice recharge and an encouragement.

As far as the whole “cruise” experience, this was my first cruise and I am glad we did it. I enjoyed it, although I am not sure if I would take another one. There are pros and cons to every type of travel I suppose.

Cruise pros:

  1. All the food is included in the cruise price
  2. You don’t have to pack up your suitcase every few days and change hotels.
  3. You don’t have to plan anything, it’s all taken care of. All you have to decide is what excursions to add.
  4. You can get to hard-to-get-to places/islands easier
  5. Cruises are usually cheaper than other kinds of vacations.

Cruise cons:

  1. You are on a swaying boat most of the time and can get dizzy/sick
  2. All the food is included in the cruise price – so you are less likely to spend money trying local foods and thus miss out on part of the travel/culture experience
  3. You are traveling with thousands of people who are all dumped out at one port at the same time and thus wherever you go you are in a large, congested crowd of tourists
  4. You are staying in a very small stateroom and don’t have much space
  5. Since you are traveling by sea as opposed to land, you see less of the landscape of the countries you are visiting. Traveling by land avails you the ability to see a vast landscape even if you aren’t stopping in every city.

So….I think overall I would say I like traveling by tour better than traveling by cruise, but it was a fun experience and I am glad we did it!

I'm glad Rebekah showed up and surprised us. It was fun to hang out again.

Our ship, Paradise, in the distance. (at Catalina)

I finally made it to Mexico! My 13th country.

View of the ship from above

View of the ship from above

Rebekah, Renae and I at La Bufadora

Vera dressed up as an old man for our "Find Vera" game

One of the many towel animals left by our steward

A few of the signs around Mexico made me laugh

Ensenada, Mexico

Sunset from the ship

Seagull at Ensenada

View from the ship

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Antonia permalink
    April 26, 2010 8:20 am

    Looks like you had a great time!

  2. Becka permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:32 am

    So fun! I love how you managed to fit everything in this post – I think mine will take a period of days to cover everything. Otherwise it will be too long and boring. lol

  3. Becka permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:36 am

    Oh – and you have some really awesome pics!

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    April 26, 2010 12:01 pm

    Hey Tonia! Yeah, we did. 🙂 You will have to come with us next time!
    Yeah Beck, it’s always hard after a vacation to condense it all Thanks. 🙂 It was so funny bc when I went out on the deck to get the sunset pics, it was SO bright out there with the sun reflecting off the water that I didn’t even see the bird in my last pic until after I had taken it and was looking at my camera. 🙂 Anyways…I will upload the rest of them to Picasa when I get a chance.

  5. April 26, 2010 2:59 pm

    What beautiful pictures!

  6. Jay permalink
    April 26, 2010 6:14 pm

    Great pros and cons to consider. Especially about the food. Gluttonizing (made up word for Becka) has always been the draw for me as far as cruises go. But I’m definitely all about trying the local cuisine so getting extra meals might be tough. The spending extra money part, not the stuffing myself silly. That’s not a problem at all.

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    April 26, 2010 6:55 pm

    Lol Jay. Yeah, I felt like we were eating every couple of hours!

Leave a Reply

