Skip to content

Come dream with me

April 16, 2010

Usually when people talk about addictions they are referring to negative, life destroying sins or habits. But what about good addictions? Or can addictions ever be good?

Because I seriously think I am addicted to traveling.

I have had hobbies in the past, and they are fun and enjoyable. But nothing compares to the thrill and excitement of traveling and experiencing new cultures, meeting new people and seeing this awe-inspiring and beautiful world in which we live. Once you have tasted the boundless freedom and inspiration of traveling to the far flung reaches of the world, you will always be left with the desire to see and experience more.

Growing up in America I have been blessed beyond what I could ever imagine. I am so thankful for the country in which I was raised, and truly believe it is the greatest country in the world. But it is so eye-opening and enlightening to visit other countries and experience other cultures. You cannot help but come back changed and inspired.

Traveling is always on my mind. Whether I am anticipating an upcoming trip, reminiscing about a past adventure, or planning my next trip, it’s always there. Right now I am dreaming of Petra. To be honest, when this Israel trip was first planned, I was most excited about Israel and Egypt. I didn’t care one way or the other about Jordan. But now I think one of the most exciting things we do will be going to Petra. The more I have learned about it and the more pictures I have seen, I seriously cannot wait now. One website calls it the “treasure of the ancient world” and says that there is nothing in the world that resembles it. It is also one of the New Seven Wonders of the World.

I cannot even begin to describe how insanely excited I am about going to Petra!!!!! I usually don’t wish away a whole years’ worth of time, but I seriously don’t think Novermber can come fast enough this year!

Entrance to Petra. I don't normally post pictures that I havent taken myself, but since I haven't been there yet I haven't been able to take my own.

I have heard people say that they think others are bragging when they talk about all their wonderful vacations, and perhaps some do, but honestly I really think it’s just one of those things that when you experience it, it’s so exciting and life-changing that you can’t help talking about it, and wanting others to experience it too. (Kinda like salvation, but on a much lesser scale lol. No one brags about being saved, but when it changes you, you want everyone else to experience it too! It’s not the same thing as say, telling everyone your GPA and how smart you are) And anyways, I think it’s all a matter of what you choose to spend your money on. Anyone can travel, it’s not like it’s a talent or something brag-worthy, it’s just a matter of deciding you’d rather see the world than update your wardrobe every month, or something like that.

So go experience the world! I promise you it will change you and you will probably not be able to stop traveling! You might end up really broke, but seriously, you will probably decide it’s worth it!!

Ahhhhhh, soooooo fun! I wish I had started sooner. Although then I probably would have never finished college/grad school!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 8:34 am

    There are definitely good addictions in life. This is the time of your life to indulge in yours! Petra is a dream of ours. But that’s for when the nest is empty! For now, we’re doing all that we can to experience all the cool stuff that’s driveable.

  2. April 17, 2010 9:27 am

    How fun to travel all over the world! We’ll see you when you travel here next month!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    April 17, 2010 9:45 am

    Jay – I love road trips too! Sooo fun! I like traveling anywhere I guess…this world is so beautiful. I don’t see how one can see all this natural beauty and still believe that God didn’t create it…

    Lisa – Can’t wait to be in WI!!!! I wish it was a longer trip, but I am happy for the days I get! 🙂

  4. April 20, 2010 7:50 am

    Yeah, I would say you are definitely addicted to traveling. But honestly, who can blame you? I love traveling! One day we need to take a trip somewhere. 🙂

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    April 24, 2010 6:48 pm

    You name the place Ruth and I’m there! 🙂 I feel like taking a road trip right now…but this year is already packed. Next year k? Actually, save up and come with Melinda and I to Italy/Greece next year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

