Skip to content

Question

April 6, 2010

Question.

If someone says they are going to “Africa” what specific country do you think they are referring to?  I mean, there is no specific country called “Africa.” Except South Africa, but generally people will specify that when they are going there.

So….I say they are just referring to the continent, right?  Like when you go to Europe, you kinda just generalize it to include several countries.
So…if I am going to Egypt, I can say I am going to Africa, right?

That is not a rhetorical question. I need feedback here.  I have a point to prove. (yeah, we’re a bit competitive at the Dunlop household…maybe that explains a bit about me…)

Thanks!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    April 7, 2010 6:22 am

    I would say that Egypt counts as “Africa.” I mean, you don’t really think of Egypt when you think “Africa,” but in the technical use of the word, you would be on the continent. I say it counts.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    April 7, 2010 9:03 am

    Yeah, I know, it sounds funny kinda…but then what makes like Kenya or Nigeria more Africa than other African countries? lol….idk

  3. April 9, 2010 8:43 am

    When I hear someone say they’re going to Africa, I think of countries that mostly have black citizens (like Uganda, Kenya). Countries like South Africa and Egypt are so different than other African countries that I think people tend to say “I’m going to South Africa” or “I’m going to Egypt.”

    Are you going to Egypt?

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    April 9, 2010 9:05 am

    Right Jacob, me too I think. But I just wonder why? Ya know? I mean, when someone says “Europe” you don’t really have a picture in your mind of one or two specific countries, they are ALL part of Europe.

    So I guess I just wonder why we think of just a few specific countries when we say “Africa” ya know? Just seems weird. People do tend to specify where in Africa they are going when they go there, but when people go to Europe they just say “Europe” usually…Maybe I am overthinking it lol.

    But yeah Lord willing the plan is to go to Israel, Jordan and Egypt in the fall. Yay! 🙂 Maybe someday I will make it to the real Africa (but I gotta figure out which countries count as “Africa” first) 🙂

  5. April 9, 2010 11:01 am

    Yeah, it is interesting. Let me know what you think about this one: when someone says, “I’m going to Europe” or, “I’m going to Asia,” does the thought that they might be going to Russia cross your mind? Even though it’s on both continents, it’s almost in its own category.

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    April 9, 2010 11:13 am

    That’s true! I always just think of Russia being in Europe. I think Turkey is on both too, right? (Didn’t you go to Turkey?) Interesting. I think it’s much easier when a continent is all by itself like Australia lol. 🙂

  7. April 13, 2010 4:11 pm

    Yeah, I think it is on both. I went to China, not Turkey, and I’m going back again this summer 😀

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    April 14, 2010 8:27 pm

    Oh ok, super cool. Have fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

