Skip to content

A few favorite hair products

March 23, 2010

Do you have some hair products that you just can’t live without? Over the years I have tried what feels like hundreds of different products (probably not really that many) and some I add to my hair care routine, while most others get dumped in the trash.

I often get asked what I use on my hair, so I am frequently recommending hair products. (although lately I think I get more looks of sympathy than anything. Every day when I look in the mirror I am reminded that my hairdresser hates me)

These are a few items that I have come to love:

I absolutely LOVE Matrix’s Curl Life defining system! If I could, I would wash and condition my hair with Matrix every day (or every third day as I like to mix it up a bit – supposedly its good for your hair to not get stuck on the same shampoo/conditioner every day.) Matrix Curl Life smells amazing! I adore the fragrance. And it really does seem to help my curls stay shiny and bouncy. But at 16.95 each for a 13.5 oz bottle, I only buy this when it’s on sale at a salon, or when I get a random J.C. Penney salon coupon, so I don’t use it very often. My theory is that if you have naturally healthy hair you don’t need to use salon shampoo daily. I have alternated with Pantene, Garnier Fructis and sometimes Herbal Essences for years and my hair is extremely healthy so I haven’t had a problem using those along with other random salon brands that I try. BUT, if you feel like spending the money, and you want to pamper your curls, definitely try the Matrix Curl life system. I am trying their spiraling spray gel right now and think I could go either way on it. It makes your curls crunchy, but all gels do that so I am not sure that at 16.95 it’s really worth it. Most curl gels seem to work well, at least for my curls.

One product I really can’t live without is For Perms Only‘s Curl-It-Up Leave In Conditioner. This stuff is AWESOME! I stumbled upon this product at Sally’s once and of course had to try it out. I am not exactly sure what it is that it does for my hair, but I know that a liberal spritzing of this on my just washed hair will let my curls air dry beautifully without  any frizz. My hair is not permed, but this stuff works great. Sally’s keeps raising the price on this stuff. I just got some today and it was $5.49 (It’s 4.99 on their website) But it lasts about 2 months. John Frieda’s Frizz Ease Dream Curls works well too.

My only “can’t live without” product that I use on both curly and straight hair is Sunglitz. When I first started buying this stuff, it came in the smaller bottle (far right) and had a flip top lid that was perfect for doling out small drops of this liquid silk (a little goes a long way! and believe me, if you aren’t careful you will end up with greasy hair if you use too much!) Now apparently it comes in larger bottles (second from right) and these are not as convenient for travel and such. I saved my smaller bottle and now buy the large bottle and just use it to refill the smaller bottle. As is usually the case, buying in bulk is cheaper and the large bottle cost about $35.00 I think. But I am not kidding it will probably last you 5 years at least! I have had mine for a few years and I am sure it will last many more years. Sunglitz (Biosilk is basically the same thing, but for finer hair types) did wonders for my hair and I am forever indebted to the lady who introduced me to it! I used to just use it when I straightened my hair (to smooth it down and make it shine) but now I use it every morning after I wash my hair. Curls LOVE to frizz up on you, and adding this first thing in the morning to my wet hair helps prevent the frizz. (Rinsing your hair with cool or cold water also helps cut down on the frizz – not much fun though!)

What are some products that you have tried and loved?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Antonia permalink
    March 24, 2010 11:58 am

    I like the Biosilk and anythig labeled “Tea Tree” feels great on my scalp

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    March 26, 2010 1:08 pm

    I will have to try Tea Tree sometime, I don’t think I have ever seen it before.

  3. March 30, 2010 7:58 pm

    I use the Lavender shampoo and conditioner from Young Living, Witch Hazel hair spray (from Aveda), and the Aveda Phomollient.

Leave a Reply

