Skip to content

VOTE FOR JEN and a little bit of everything else!

March 19, 2010

I’m so fed up with everything that’s going on in this country these days, so I am running   President. It’s time. Vote for me?  Well if not, can you at least vote for my photo to win msnbc’s travel photo of the week contest? It’s completely no big deal at all, no prize or anything, but still….I’m fast losing my grip on first place so I need all the help I can get (yes, I know, mine is not the best, but I still want to win lol). THANKS! Here’s the link, my pic is the third from the left on the top. Jen’s photo

So after a short blog hiatus…I’m back! I wondered what 2010 would turn out to be like, and so far I can sum it up as “just a little bit crazy.” I have this humongous stack of books that I am dying to dive into and it’s just not happening. I AM in the middle of one really good book:

One interesting excerpt: The driver shrugged." Farmers here say that Taliban leader Mullah Omar has made a fatwa saying that the Afghan people should cultivate and sell the poppy plant, but only if it will be sold to the United States. The mullah said his goal was to send as many hard drugs to the United States as possible so that America's money would flow to Afghanistan while America's youth will be ruined by becoming addicted to the drug heroin." p 158

I don’t like to recommend a book unless I have read the whole thing, but so far it’s been really good so I think it’s safe to say I recommend it. It really, really makes it more interesting when you hear about Osama bin Laden in the news! And of course Jean Sasson has written some other books alongside other Muslim women, telling their incredible stories. Another book along this vein is a book I read many years ago, “Not Without My Daughter” by Betty Mahmoody. People seriously need to read this stuff.

This week we have had my uncle at church for our Family Crusade and while it’s been fun, it’s made for a very busy week. We had several kids saved though so of course it’s worth it. Please pray that these kids will continue to come to church! I had the privilege of leading two young teen girls (sisters) to the Lord, so I am really hoping that they will come to church!

The girls won the penny offering, so the boys’ team captain, Brian, got honey and feathers dumped on him. 🙂

Chicken Brian

Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day! I was surprised this morning when a group of staff and students (The Ireland Team – I so want to tag along!) stopped by the office to wish me a ‘top o’ the morning’ and ‘happy St. Patrick’s Day’ and dropped off a bag of candy. Apparently they were a bit behind on their…I don’t know what to call it. I want to call it a singing Valentine, but I am not sure what you call it when it’s St. Patrick’s Day.  Anyhow, needless to say I was happy to get the candy even if it was two days late. 🙂 And I thought the bag was cute. I have the nicest coworkers. They are always buying me food and drinks and such. Maybe they are trying to fatten me up. I think it’s working too. I seriously eat so much over there.

Casi and I

Casi’s mom was visiting from Texas the other day, so we had to go over to Pinkberry of course. Casi is one of my walking partners at work (I have to walk off all the food I eat over there) and we met years ago when she would come into the library where I used to work. She’s my politics buddy too and sometimes we go to stuff at her church as they are very politically active over there. Casi and I also sometimes debate politics with weird, random strangers in front of Barnes and Nobles. Sometimes.

So that’s just a little bit of what I’ve been up to lately. Oh, and I went to church last Saturday night! That was an experience. Going to church on a Saturday night just feels…weird! I seriously felt like I was going to some sort of amusement park or museum (the campus is incredible!)…just adding to my list of random churches/religions that I have “experienced” lol. Maybe you’ve heard of “The Purpose Driven Life” and Rick Warren and Saddleback Church? Anyhow, that was interesting. Certainly not as interesting as going to hear Benny Hinn or the Unitarian church I visited once…but unique in its’ own way. I have yet to be brave enough to visit a Kingdom Hall or an LDS church, and I’ve heard that services at Jewish Temples are incredibly long…but maybe one day I will get to experience those too. Maybe. I am NOT looking for a new church, but it certainly is interesting to experience these services just out of curiosity.


9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    March 20, 2010 7:37 am

    lol Nice coverup in trying to make us believe that you’re not looking for a new church. Riiiighht. I love the pic of Brian. 🙂 And get this, it let me vote again! 🙂 lol So, I gave you two votes. I’ll count one as belonging to Matt. 🙂

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    March 20, 2010 9:29 am

    It let you vote again? Maybe you are on a different computer? You can vote once from each computer lol. So go around to all the computers… 🙂
    Thanks for voting!

  3. March 20, 2010 9:41 am

    I was on a different computer…awesome. I have….17 computers at here. lol Of course, I wouldn’t BE ABLE to get on all of them, but that would be funny. 🙂

  4. March 20, 2010 8:21 pm

    I voted for your picture. Hope you win!

  5. Miriam permalink
    March 20, 2010 8:51 pm

    I also voted. Good luck!:)

  6. zaza permalink
    March 22, 2010 3:34 pm

    i’ve visited a few churches before for my psychology of religion class. Scientology, LDS, Catholic, Charismatic (for my brother). i must say the two that i actually “liked” was LDS and the charismatic church. =P

    never been to saddleback, but that does sounds interesting. went to the rock once, that was a whole other experience. lol.

    kingdom hall?

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    March 22, 2010 3:43 pm

    Thanks for voting everyone 🙂
    Wow Zaz, you are brave! Charismatic is like Benny Hinn I guess, so I have experienced that before and that is quite interesting to say the least! (although I am disappointed that on the night I went he said he felt led of the Lord to not have a healing service at the end. That was what I went for! But it was still very interesting)
    But LDS would be interesting, although they scare me. Kingdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses…they scare me too lol.

  8. zaza permalink
    March 22, 2010 3:54 pm

    hmm…i guess if you are there for a specific reason, it seems different. I had to visit those churches to write a paper/review their beliefs and compare/contrast to christianity. the LDS people were really friendly, but then religion/belief is another story…luckily since they were so open i got a lot of material for my review! lol. i think it depends on the individual and why you are there. i was there cause i needed to write a paper. lol. nothing more. and i knew/know what i believe so it didn’t seem like a big deal. i went with my brother, so i wasn’t by myself or anything like that. but they really “push” for a second visit. i think that i would like to visit jw service…think it would be a learning experience.

  9. March 22, 2010 3:58 pm

    K Zaz, we’ll have to go sometime. I think there’s one really close to APU…

Leave a Reply

