Skip to content

Anyone can be an artist

March 7, 2010

It’s true. You don’ t have to be talented, or creative. You just have to go out and do it.  And people will be sooo impressed with you that they will gather up all your impressive works of art, and create a book out of them! Then you can sit back and collect royalties and travel the world while everyone oohs and ahhs over your book.

I came across one such book the other day at work. I am sure you will be as wildly impressed as my coworkers and I were. We have since decided to create our own. So maybe when you publish your book, and we publish ours, we will run into each other someday on a deserted Caribbean island and we can sit back and laugh.

Without further ado, here are some works of art I recently stumbled across. The cover is the first picture, and the subsequent pictures are pages out of the book.

Whoever came up with this creative title is a genius

I can imagine them sitting down one day and trying to come up with a title for this art book.  When in doubt, simply stating the facts is best. “Diagonal” definitely and succinctly describes this book.

Guess the title of this piece? Yep, "Red Diagonal" - it looks a bit orange, but when you compare it to "Orange Diagonal", you can see that it's really red.

"Blue Diagonal"

"White Diagonal"

"Black Diagonal II" - yeah, if you know you've got something good the first time...

"Yellow Diagonal" in case you were still wondering...

Well I won’t post all of the pages, but those are some of the wonderful pieces reproduced in this book. Makes you want to go out and get the originals, doesn’t it? Or at least buy this lovely book to set on your coffee table. I mean, you don’t see works that awe inspiring every day…Unless of course you are a kindergarten teacher…In which case maybe you should steal the kids’ work and publish it, make a fortune and then retire.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 7:53 pm

    Wow, that really is amazing. 🙂 It does make you wonder sometimes what others consider to be “art.”

  2. Becka permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:59 am

    lol lol lol lol Wow, even I could do that! I’m so inspired that I’m going to start my book right now. 🙂 Maybe with the royalties I can pay off my house. 🙂

  3. zaza permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:24 am

    wow. I was deeply moved by these truly inspirational and uplifting works of art! I can’t even begin to describe how touching these pieces were; there was almost a tear. I would love to meet the creater of these magnificant contributions to society and the world. *sigh* maybe when they return from visiting the caribbean…

    p.s. sometimes with art/poetry I wonder “Am I missing something?” ha, ha. But then i suppose that is the beauty of art, you don’t always have to “get” something. well, then, I suppose I CAN be an artist. =P as a matter of fact, i am being inspired right now with a great idea…thank you ellsworth kelly! (btw, his biography is pretty interesting, and after reading about it some of his art actually does make sense. lol. well the the fact that he was in the military and some of his creations were inspired by camouflage)

  4. Becka permalink
    March 8, 2010 1:50 pm

    My coworkers and I are going with triangles….Lavender Triangle, Turquoise Triangle, etc. Really wonderful works of art.

  5. zaza permalink
    March 8, 2010 1:52 pm

    cute beck, i am going with handprints. red left hand, blue right hand, holding hands, praying hands, sleeping hands, counting hands, etc. yes, i have thought this through. i just need to contact my contact to get this in motion. =)

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    March 8, 2010 1:56 pm

    Oooh, you all are so creative! We were thinking of circles over here. 🙂 Maybe we could start a series…lol. Although idk about the lavender triangle Beck, lol. 🙂 Maybe make it a deep purple. 🙂

    Ha ha Zaz, when you said you read his biography I was like “what?” and then I realized you probably meant wikipedia or something. 🙂 lol

    And to make this even easier, if you go to a scrapbook store, they often have paper die cuts, so you don’t even have to cut the shapes out by hand. I think we could crank out a book in less than five minutes!

  7. zaza permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:05 pm

    @ jen – yes, i wikipedia’d it. lol. and circles, wow, you were really thinking outside the box. =P jk. in my mind, it was real people’s hands not a die cut, but hey, whatever works! =)

    btw, we need to use really cool color names for them. not just “green” circle but like “rainforest spring green” circle

    oohh, we can totally combine all our ideas. i.e. deep sea blue hands holding potpourri magneta triangle within a rainforest spring green circle! lol. okay thats a mouthful. =)

  8. Becka permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:08 pm

    OOOHHHHH!!! Excellent. I volunteer my handprint should you happen to need it. And Jen, I had lavender paper on hand to make the lavender triangle, but I can do deep purple if you think that would sell better. Zaz, put me in contact with your contact! lol Love the combined idea! lol

  9. jenmarie permalink*
    March 8, 2010 2:15 pm

    Zaz – I was thinking real handprints, but for circles and triangles I was thinking a die cut is much faster. 🙂 Maybe we can work the names into poems that we attach to each one. Instead of titling it (“Blue Diagonal”) we can write a poem for it. Beck writes poems. 🙂 But I do like the deep sea one, very creative!
    Beck – it just made me laugh – about lavender triangles – bc of the association they have now… but I mean, if we want to reach out to all groups with our art book then hey….lol 🙂

  10. Becka permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:22 pm

    Ooohhhhhhh. lol I wasn’t thinking that, I was repeating what my boss had said about the different colors of paper we had. lol Okay, dark purple it is. lol

    lol I can do poems. No promises that they would be profound. lol

  11. zaza permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:23 pm

    @ beck – yes, we can use all handprints, even yours.

    @ jen – die cuts for those shapes make sense. lol. i like the poem idea, oh, maybe we should make it a haiku. so at least theyre short poems….

    alright, let re convene in a week, remeber to bring your sample sketches/poem ideas/color name combos! lol.

  12. Becka permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:24 pm

    On a more serious note, we could totally sell a book like this for kids. It will help them learn their shapes and colors. Also, children’s books often have cheesy poems, so I can totally do taht. lol

  13. jenmarie permalink*
    March 8, 2010 2:27 pm

    Good idea Zaz. Let’s pick a serious place to “reconvene” (say the Bahamas or something) where we can really concentrate and not be distracted. I am sure we can get this done in a week and then we can start planning our vacation! Yay.
    lol

  14. Becka permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:38 pm

    Done. Working on poems/haikus. See you next week! lol lol I wish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

