Skip to content

Exploring the neighborhood

February 3, 2010

So I’m trying something new! Walking my dog when I get home from work. I know, most people do this all the time, but we really never have. Our dogs have always had plenty of room to run so they really have never needed “walks.” But I decided I want the excercise since I now sit all day at work, so Princess is coming along for moral support. Besides, she needs some excitement in her life now that Puppy is gone and we have  yet to find a replacement for her. (Also since she didn’t produce the desired puppies, otherwise she would have lots of excitement right now.)

So we take walks now. If they can be called that. I never knew there were dogs who couldn’t just take normal walks like normal dogs, but I do now. I take the walk for excercise, but apparently Princess doesn’t care about that. For her it’s just a grand sensory adventure! If we “walked” the path she wants to walk, I am sure someone would call the cops to say some crazy redhead and her crazy dog were zigzagging across all the lawns in the neighborhood.

But everything has to be sniffed and smelled and investigated. Were she younger I am sure she’d make a great drug or bomb sniffing dog. That’s all she wants to do! Sniff! They would love her. She’d work 24/7. Well, if they could get her to do what they want her to do. She kind of has a mind of her own. I try not to take her too far since crossing major streets can be a nightmare. Everything intrigues her. Cars driving by get stared at. Kids playing ball in the park are cause for pause. Dogs peering out of their backyards…her ears perk up and she creeps slowly forward. She must not have realized that she and Puppy didn’t have a corner on the pet  market.

Were she male I might change her name to “Sherlock”…might be more fitting. Although the name on her AKC papers is Princess Taz (short for Tasmanian Devil) – she did earn that for sure.

Pictures from tonight’s adventure. She’s never still, even when sniffing everything in sight, so pictures are really hard to take!

                              Sniffing a lawn along the way

                               Sniffing the sidewalk

                                Investigating the bushes

                               A rare still moment when I told her to “sit.” Lasted all of 3 seconds.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 9:34 pm

    Sounds like a fun way to get some exercise. I walk the treadmill at our YMCA. 🙂 Our friends’ dogs are always sniffing us when we visit. I think they like our oils!

  2. Becka permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:37 am

    Loved this post! It was great. The pics are so funny after reading the story. 🙂 Oh, and I love love love the look of this blog right now and your new profile pic. The pic is SUPER cute.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    February 5, 2010 9:12 pm

    Thanks 🙂 Although I just changed it again, lol.

Leave a Reply

