Skip to content

How does this happen?

January 26, 2010

So I was reading today about this man in Poland who was pronounced dead, put in a coffin, and later found to still be alive. He was just lucky his family had asked for some of the jewelry he was wearing, otherwise he might be six feet under right now.

I had one thought: How does this happen? I mean, seriously. Don’t they perform tests on these people? Don’t they have to make sure they are really dead?  Are they really just dumping people in caskets the minute they take their “last” breath? I realize people are busy, but sheesh, spare a few moments and just double check!

When I die, please, someone, make sure I’m really gone, okay? Just to make sure. Poke me with needles or something. I mean – gently, not to finish me off or anything – just to see if I scream. Okay, maybe the needles idea isn’t the brightest…maybe…I don’t know, do something.

I’m insanely claustrophobic and just the thought of waking up that far underground and nailed in a coffin is more than I can bear.

Thanks. I appreciate it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. robby permalink
    January 27, 2010 2:01 pm

    Don’t worry Jenny.. I’ll be there!!

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    January 27, 2010 2:14 pm

    lol, thanks Robby

  3. Jay permalink
    January 27, 2010 6:29 pm

    Crazy. So did the person who was getting the jewelry notice not-dead guy breathing or did not-dead guy sit up as soon as the coffin was opened?

  4. Becka permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:27 am

    lol That is so scary! lol I mean for the person who realized he wasn’t dead. Can you just imagine the range of emotions his family members experienced? I wonder if they’ll believe it next time he is “dead.” lol Wow.

    Jen, I’ll gladly stick you with a few needles to ensure you are dead. Like sewing needles. Those won’t kill you – well, I guess you could kill a person with a sewing needle, but it seems like it would take a while. lol

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    January 28, 2010 9:39 am

    I guess as his coffin was getting ready to be sealed, his wife asked for a necklace that he was wearing, so the undertaker opened the coffin to get the necklace and as his hand brushed the man’s neck, he detected a pulse!
    Craziness, yeah, I can’t imagine what they all were thinking/feeling.
    Thanks Beck. 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

