Skip to content

A beautiful day for an adventure!

January 9, 2010

Have you ever had God provide something before you needed it? And at first it didn’t make sense, but then afterwards it did?

Today was a gorgeous day! (One of the many reasons I live in southern California – beautiful weather in January!) It was so nice that Sarah and I said it would be a nice day to have a BBQ in the park, or to take a hike. We talked about different ideas as we were doorknocking for church this morning, and afterwards stopped for ice cream. So then since we were waiting for Leanne, I had the bright idea of taking a walk. We have done this in the past, meandering through downtown LaVerne and window shopping. But Amy needed to go get lunch, so I said “let’s walk to McDonalds.” I had this nagging feeling as we set off that maybe I should have driven us up there, but it was such a beautiful day and I just wanted to be outside, so we walked. I also thought that maybe I should be bringing my wallet, just in case, but I left it in the car anyways. We were almost to McDonalds when we came to the pet shop, so just for fun I suggested we go look at the puppies. After playing with the one puppy they had, and admiring the brightly colored birds (and also checking out the very edible looking dog treats – seriously, you’d think the dogs actually cared if their treats were so beautifully decorated), we left the store. As we got out to the main street, I noticed a wad of cash lying on the sidewalk. It ended up being just $11, in ones and a five. We finally decided that probably no one would come back for just $11, and where would we turn it in anyways? So I kept it and figured I would just buy us lunch with it.

Then…we crossed the street. Halfway across the busy intersection, my flip flop came off. “That’s strange, “‘ I thought, how did I just lose my shoe? That never happens. So I reached down and put it back on, only to try and take a step and have it fall off again. This is still in the middle of the intersection, with cars waiting to turn. It was then that I realized my flip flop had broken. 😦 I am sure I was quite entertaining for all the cars who were stopped at the red light. (Probably not so much for the ones waiting to turn right). So I just carried my flip flops and walked barefoot the rest of the way. Now what? We still had to cross the street again to get to McDonalds, so I again walked barefoot across the street (If you know me, that grosses me out, but what could I do?) I knew I couldn’t walk barefoot all the way back to church…so we decided that Amy and I would go get her food and wait in McDonalds while Sarah and Lenisha went back to Target with the wad of cash – that I now knew why God had sent, since I didn’t have my wallet – to buy me flip flops.

While Amy and I were in McDonalds, Lenisha’s mom came in looking for her. I felt bad telling her that her daughter had gone to buy me flip flops. Normally I wouldn’t have sent them by themselves but I am not sure Target would have even let me walk in barefoot, and I really didn’t want to walk all the way back over there with no shoes. So she went off in search of her daughter while Amy and I sat there. Thankfully she was able to find them and Sarah was able to find me flip flops. She wasn’t , however, able to find my size. I wear a 6 1/2 and she was able to find a 9/10. But at least we now  had a ride back to the church, so I didn’t have to try and walk the whole way back…it’s hard walking in flip flops that are a few sizes too big. You have to sorta curl your toes so you don’t step out of them.

Anyways, so that was enough of an adventure for today. I think I will stick to driving from now on, nice day or not. And maybe I will stick a spare pair of flip flops in the trunk…

My new blue flip flops

A normal pair of flip flops

Ones that are a little too big – but at least they aren’t broken!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    January 11, 2010 9:48 am

    That’s awesome! Those flip flops are HUGE though. lol Made me laugh for reals.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    January 12, 2010 12:59 pm

    Yeah, it was cool. 🙂 And it made me laugh too.

Leave a Reply

