Skip to content

Why do we do it?

December 7, 2009

Why do we get such a thrill from trying to hook up people? There must be a deeper answer than just “it’s fun.” Do we feel the need to bring happiness into their lives? Do we think that maybe without our help they will never stumble upon that special someone? Or, as a good friend and I used to skeptically surmise (since we too were the recipients of such benevolence) “do people just want us to be as miserable as they are?” Yes, we were a little cynical…or maybe we were just sick of people trying to hook up us when they didn’t even know what was going on? Side note here, if you see two people always talking and such, maybe they don’t need your help in getting “hooked up.” Just sayin…

Anyways, I have come to the conclusion that most people  try to hook me up with guys they think no one else will want. Seriously. And I’m like “really?” Well, except Robby. Robby has a good heart and he actually picks out guys that I end up liking. Everyone else picks out really dorky guys and expects me to gush over their selection. I’ve learned to ask “does he have teeth?” Or some other such important question. In short, I have learned that Jay, Sarah, and Heather are not allowed to pick out any guys for me.

Another thing I have learned along the way…if you happen to be single and work at a Bible College, you are a prime target for the matchmaking force. And believe me, they will come out in force. Whether you appear interested or not, it really doesn’t matter to them. If you are single, you must be miserable, poor thing. Surely no one means to stay single! Gasp! lol. At least I had a friend along the way. Good ol’ Mr. O. He would stop by and talk often and he was so much fun to talk to. (Maybe in part because he would help me tease Rich mercilessly and laugh whenever I said something remotely funny) He always expressed surprise that I was single. “Are the boys blind or are they just stupid?” I just told him it was that I was too smart. At least he didn’t try to hook me up with anyone.

Rich did though.  He tried valiantly. And maybe if I hadn’t been so completely smitten with someone else the whole time, I might not have run off the few brave souls that dared venture past the matchmaker’s door and timidly inquire within. But seriously. What are we thinking when we try to hook up people? Do we really want to be responsible for their pain if it doesn’t work out? Do we want them blaming us when things go kaput? Or are we willing to brave that possibility for the off chance that it does work out, and we will then be hailed heroes? And maybe then they will be naming their first child after us? Or maybe they will be so thankful to us that they will be singing our praises the rest of their lives as they dance off to revel in their rosy futures? And we will just sit back and grin and say, “see, I knew it was destiny!”

Why do we do it? I don’t know, but I hope my latest matchmaking efforts produce positive results.

* This is for all those people who insist my blog needs real posts, not pathetic one line updates.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. nurseseekingamission permalink
    December 8, 2009 4:32 am

    Amen sister, I agree 100%. Single life is not completely miserable. I guess those around us must think that it is though…haha, I think I am doing just fine single. Love you and miss you Jen.

  2. Becka permalink
    December 8, 2009 9:18 am

    I think we do it because it’s kinda fun – no ulterior motives such as miserableness, or non-miserableness. lol And that would be fun if the latest matchmaking scheme produce good results. 🙂 I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

  3. jaynepomuceno permalink
    December 8, 2009 11:05 am

    Jen, I’m gonna find you a winner. It would be much easier if you would let go of that silly teeth requirement, though. C’mon, don’t be so shallow!

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    December 8, 2009 1:28 pm

    Yeah Beck, that’s really what this post was supposed to be about, them, not me. lol. It just brought back memories of when everyone and their mom thought they knew who I would be perfect with. lol.

    Sigh, I know, I’m way too shallow. lol. And sorry but only Robby’s allowed to find people for me, he’s the only one who’s one for one – even if he really didn’t do anything.

  5. Antonia permalink
    December 9, 2009 9:44 am

    Seriously, Jeff was a great guy, – smart, handsome, if you could just look past the…lol

    The last couple we hooked up got married shouldn’t that count for something?

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    December 9, 2009 9:45 am

    lol, who did you hook up????
    Seriously Tonia, life is so much easier and less complicated single. 🙂

  7. Antonia permalink
    December 9, 2009 12:07 pm

    Robert’s brother and my friend Carolyn married with a baby on the way.
    See you should give us a chance-

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    December 9, 2009 12:11 pm

    Oh yeah, I forgot about them. Didn’t know there was a baby on the way though. That’s cool. Alright, you get one more chance. 😉 lol – no more wild surfers though. 🙂

  9. Antonia permalink
    December 9, 2009 12:24 pm

    Okay no more “wild” surfers…

Leave a Reply

