Skip to content

Work and other random things

November 7, 2009

Ahhh, life is truly crazy. But at least it’s fun, right? I’m sitting here at work, forcing myself to put an update on here! Seriously. And listening to the carillon bells playing outside. I always love listening to carillon music. We always played music at Glendora, which I liked. But here at APU it’s even better since the bells play Christian songs so I can sing along as I walk to my car, etc. It never fails to put a smile on my face. (the bells, not my singing)

So…the party is over, unfortunately. I’m so sad. I have to start working full time on Monday. Ahhh, so sad. I seriously had the most awseomest work year ever this past year. It was a huge blessing and I’m definitely going to miss the nice hours and sweet pay. Oh well. At least I have a job!

And next week I’ll also meet with  my Heart to Heart mentee (I think that’s what they call them) for the first time. Kinda nervous about that so if you think of it, please pray for me! Seriously, I don’t want to wreck this girl’s life or anything, lol. So yeah, that would be awesome! (your prayers)

And…yeah, life is good. I was already getting a bit busier without starting the mentoring or working full time (which means I’ll have to give up the crisis center  now) so…we’ll see how it goes.

OH, my super cool answer to prayer. It’s a long story, but basically my dentist had recommended an orthodontist in La Verne that I started going to. I had a bad feeling about the place, but ended up signing a contract that for x amount of dollars he would fix my teeth. And then I soon after really wanted out. It was the most unprofessional place ever, with the assistants fighting with each other, making personal calls for like 30 minutes while they were supposed to be seeing me, the doctor routinely cancelling appointments, often after I’d already shown up. It was just a really bizarre place, but I still owed them money and they still hadn’t fixed my teeth (kinda hard to do when you cancel most of your appointments!). So when I told him I just wanted to be done with it and I didn’t want to pay him any more money, he begged for another chance and said he was going to try and do bettter. So I came for a few more appointments, and then it all started happening again. When they called one morning to cancel my app. saying the carpets were going to be cleaned (seriously? Right…) I never went back. But I still owed them that money and wasn’t sure what to do. So I just prayed that God would do something, I wasn’t even sure what, but I just knew I really didn’t want to deal with them anymore. And then just this week I got a letter from the orthodontist saying that due to a “disability” my orthodontist was transferring all existing records/patients to another orthodontist around the corner! I was partly amazed, and partly like “yeah, I knew God would do something.” It was so cool. So I don’t know what’s going to happen now, but at least there’s more of a chance of this working out now! Yay!

K- happy Saturday!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 5:25 pm

    Will you be working full-time at your current job or a different job?

    Hope things work out with the new orthodontist. Our 12-year-old has braces and likes his orthodontist/dentist, even though it’s a bit of a drive. It’s hard to find a good one, so we’d better keep going. 🙂

    I’ve been thinking about you as I read “Same Kind of Different as Me.” I’m at the part where Kleenexes come in handy. There is a sequel called “What Difference Do It Make?” Have you read that?

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    November 8, 2009 1:52 pm

    At my current job, nothing too new. 🙂
    I haven’t read the sequel yet, but I guess I should check it out sometime! If you read it before I do, let me know what you think of it!

  3. Becka permalink
    November 9, 2009 9:30 am

    That’s really great about your orthodontist. Hopefully this new one is much better!
    You’re going to find that you feel like you have NO time when you work full time (even if you might have time for other stuff, it doesn’t feel like it). 🙂

  4. November 9, 2009 8:47 pm

    I finished “Same Kind of Different” and wrote about it on my blog. I reserved the sequel from the library but haven’t gotten it yet.

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    November 9, 2009 8:55 pm

    Great review, Lisa! I’m glad you liked the book!

Leave a Reply

