Skip to content

Black Spaghetti

October 29, 2009

Is it politically correct to say “black spaghetti?” I don’t know. Anyways…so today I was getting ready to make a lasagna for dinner. I had gone to the store to get everything that we didn’t have… I was getting everything out and getting ready to make it, when I realized that we didn’t have eggs. We always have eggs. Apparently someone had come through and taken the last of the eggs so…okay…didn’t feel like going back to the store. So…plan B…which is just dig through the cabinets and find something, or, make spaghetti. Spaghetti’s always easy to fall back on. If you have spaghetti noodles. Which we always do. Usually. Okay….Oh yeah, those black spaghetti noodles that I brought back from Italy…We never used them. I had wanted to bring back something unique and the spaghetti noodles looked interesting to me (and gross) so…I bought them, never intending to have to eat them. So…I just made them. And they smell really bad. I guess they use squid ink to make them, and it smells like it. Yuck. Pretty sure I’m not going to eat them. So now I’m cooking something else. lol. If you go to Italy, don’t get the black spaghetti. 🙂 Black spaghetti 003-1

Doesn’t look appetizing, does it? Looks like shredded rubber to me. 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jenmarie permalink*
    October 29, 2009 5:26 pm

    Okay…so my mom just said that the spaghetti’s really good, she thinks it tastes better than regular spaghetti…so she says. 🙂

  2. jaynepomuceno permalink
    October 29, 2009 11:04 pm

    Yeah, those look gross. Can I have some?

  3. Becka permalink
    October 30, 2009 9:19 am

    Disgustins – it looks like a pile of small snakes or dark-skinned worms. Eww…lol

  4. zaza permalink
    October 30, 2009 9:30 am

    yeah, doesn’t even look yummy. but hey, color shouldn’t matter. they all come from the same thing whatever pasta is made out of.

    on a side note, why would they use squid ink to turn it black? add’l nutrients or just to be random. i.e. purple mustard, green ketchup. yuck.

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    October 30, 2009 9:35 am

    Yeah, it was grossing me out as I was making it. lol. I don’t know why they did it, just to be unique? It did look cool in the package, lol. I actually didn’t see the “squid ink” part myself, one of the other girls in our group looked at the package and said that’s what made it black so…I’m assuming she’s correct.
    Anyways…

  6. November 2, 2009 2:45 pm

    It looks pretty nasty! 🙂 Though we had pork feet and chicken gizzards at our house lately.

Leave a Reply

