Skip to content

New England

October 21, 2009

Things I learned in New England:

1. Dunkin Donuts is the official coffee shop of New England, not Starbucks. (Okay maybe not, but seriously I saw Dunkin Donuts on almost every single corner! Only saw 2 Starbucks.)

New England 09 186

Huge coffee cup in the Boston airport

2. Boston looks like London (at least some parts did)

New England 09 155

3. Lobster is gross. Especially for the price!

New England 09 123

4. It doesn’t matter if it’s October, it can still snow in Maine.

New England 09 125

It looks like rain, but it's actually snow.

5. New England is beautiful

New England 09 032

6. Boston at night is so pretty

New England 09 171

7. Blocks of cheese and fudge can look like sticks of dynamite to airport baggage screeners.

Yea, I got to see Jackie!

New England 09 011

Jackie and I at the farm store that she used to work at

New England 09 109

New England 09 104

Lighthouses on Cape Cod

New England 09 135

Fenway Park, Boston – It was so cool to tour the stadium!

**And I also learned that if you rely on a GPS you can get hopelessly lost and spend hours driving around Vermont late at night…

Link to the rest of the Pics

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 11:52 am

    Pretty pictures! We went to Red Lobster for lunch today, though it’s probably not like it is in Maine. We had some snow in October too, but that’s not too uncommon for Wisconsin. šŸ™‚

  2. Antonia permalink
    October 22, 2009 11:57 am

    Lobster is gross?

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    October 22, 2009 12:01 pm

    Yeah, I don’t know. My dad loves lobster, but…I didn’t like it! I don’t remember it snowing in Oct when I was in WI…maybe it’s a repressed memory. šŸ˜‰

    Well Tonia, it looks gross…and to me it tastes gross, lol. Maybe “gross” isn’t the right word….but…it’s kinda rubbery and doesn’t taste good. šŸ™‚

  4. jaynepomuceno permalink
    October 22, 2009 10:19 pm

    Lobsters just look like big ol’ bugs. Still, I’d like to give ’em a try. How was the clam chowder?

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    October 23, 2009 8:10 am

    Yes, they do look like big bugs…and they still look exactly the same after they are cooked, now they are just beet red. I’d at least like my food to look somewhat edible after it’s cooked. šŸ™‚ (And preferably taste edible too!)If you’re going to get it, try and get a small one at least to make sure you like it! Our was almost 2 pounds and at 19.00 a pound, if you aren’t going to eat more than a few bites, it’s not worth it!
    The clam chowder was good, but we didn’t go anyplace special for it, we just had it because it was available and we were in a hurry. šŸ™‚ Had it at the Yankee Candle Village in Mass.

  6. Becka permalink
    October 23, 2009 9:52 am

    Dunkin’ Donuts is pretty much the coffee shop in the Mid-Atlantic too. There is one in almost every town (besides Greenwood) and there are millions of commercials for it on TV. Of course, they are good, funny commercials. “America Runs on Dunkin’.” lol

    Loved your pics! Awww….I miss Jackie! šŸ™‚ So glad to hear that you had fun.

    I haven’t tried Lobster yet. I don’t think Matt is huge on lobster. He loves crabs though. šŸ™‚

  7. zaza permalink
    October 23, 2009 12:50 pm

    yeah, dd is big out their on the east coast. I seriously lived near like 5 dd’s within like a 2 mile radius or something like that. crazy. but they did have good cheap coffee, which i happened to enjoy!

    personally, not a lobster or clam chowder fan. however, the best (and first) lobster i ever had was in maine. surprisingly delicious. ahve tried lobster again after that and it was never the same.

    it is really pretty out there.

    #7 – there has to be some story there? did they like check ur luggage or something?

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    October 23, 2009 2:49 pm

    Beck – yeah, it was fun! I had no idea about the Dunkin’ Donuts though, it made me laugh!
    Zaz – I do like clam chowder, although I don’t think i would really like clams by themself…
    Maybe I need to try lobster cooked a different way? They just boiled it….
    #7 yeah, they took my mom’s carry on and were going through everything. I think they were relieved when they realized the “dynamite” was food. Like my mom would seriously be bringing dynamite home, lol.

  9. October 23, 2009 4:38 pm

    i thoroughly laughed at point #7. We need to make a trip there together one time.

  10. jenmarie permalink*
    October 23, 2009 6:14 pm

    Okay Ruth, let’s go. šŸ™‚ I’m always up for a trip so whenever you want to go. šŸ™‚

  11. October 24, 2009 5:17 pm

    First of all sorry I haven’t commented in awhile. Second of all I have never tried Lobster and have no plans to… since I am allergic to it. šŸ™‚ Third #7 is funny… then again when we flew to DC in 2003 the security took my nailclippers because of the nail file on them (like I was going to try and take over the plane with a nail file on a pair of nail clippers)

  12. jenmarie permalink*
    October 24, 2009 8:45 pm

    No worries. Thanks for being our guide today through the hospital. šŸ™‚
    I think I’m allergic to lobster too! Maybe that’s why I did’t like it. šŸ™‚
    Oh yeah, I always pack my nail clippers in my checked luggage now because they are so paramoid about things like that.

Leave a Reply

