Skip to content

Same Kind of Different As Me

September 30, 2009

OH. MY. WORD! You guys HAVE to read this book. It is so incredibly good and inspirational, and heart wrenchingly sad at the same time. I had tears streaming down my face as I was reading last night and I had to get up several times to go get Kleenex.

When I first heard about this book, it was being suggested as a book club read for Angie Smith’s new book club at Bring the Rain (there’s an emotional story if you want one – the story behind the blog). Anyways, they ended up deciding to read “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan (who is a frequent speaker at APU, so I think I’ll have to go hear him sometime) I checked out the first few pages of “Same Kind of Different As Me” on Amazon, and it didn’t really grab me. But then when I heard my mom was reading it, and that my dad had read it, I decided I might as well check it out.  And I am sooo glad that I did.  If this book doesn’t totally change the way you look at others, and deepen your desire to make a difference in others’ lives…I’m not sure what will. It’s a true, overwhelmingly powerful story and I highly recommend it! It’s fun, easy to read, and really entertaining too. If you already read it, let me know what you think of it! Anyone read Crazy Love yet? I’m thinkin’ I’ll read it next.

If you haven’t read it yet (Same Kind of Different…), about halfway through the book you might want to go out and buy a big box of Kleenex, ‘cuz I’m warning you, you’re probably gonna need it. But it’s soooo good! Seriously.

I was going to post about my favorite things, because last night there was an amazing sunset. And sunsets are one of my favoritest things ever! And Christy and I had frozen yogurt for dinner last night (better than coffee though, yeah?) and froyo is a fave too…so I was pretty stoked. (Some guy tried to get into my car while I was sitting there waiting for Christy, so that was interesting…) Then I came home and bawled my eyes out as I neared the end of this page turner! And I decided that I had to let you all know about this book. All five of you. 😉

So yeah, check it out!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:26 am

    Author?

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    October 1, 2009 8:34 am

    Well, if you click on the link it’ll take you to the Amazon page. It’s by a few authors so…Ron Hall, Denver Moore and Lynne Vincent. (Easier to just put the link in there 🙂 )

  3. Becka permalink
    October 1, 2009 8:40 am

    Oh, thanks. 🙂

  4. October 1, 2009 12:54 pm

    After reading your post, I went and reserved this book online. It sounds like a really good read. Is it a true story?

    Last night our pastor was saying how he had just read “Crazy Love” or actually listened to it on audio book. That one sounded interesting too.

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    October 1, 2009 1:01 pm

    Yeah, it’s a true story! But it reads like fiction. I hope you like it!

  6. Antonia permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:16 pm

    Someone tried to get into your car?

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    October 1, 2009 1:18 pm

    He thought it was his. 🙂 lol

  8. jaynepomuceno permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:27 pm

    I’ve actually heard Francis Chan preach in person. He’s really good.

  9. jenmarie permalink*
    October 6, 2009 12:29 pm

    Oh seriously? That’s cool. I guess he’s a fave here at APU and I totally missed hearing him last week.

Leave a Reply

