Skip to content

YEA for Fall!

September 23, 2009

Ahhh, life is crazy. I think things are slowing down a bit, so that’s good. And it’s finally FALL! Yea, I am sooo excited. We leave in 3 weeks for Boston…I can’t wait! It feels like my summer just keeps going and going…

So I’m going to make it to the fair this year after all. Someone gave me free tickets so…can’t pass that up. It would have been sad to miss the fair this year, but things have just been crazy so I really didn’t think it was going to work. But for free, I can make it work.

I’m only doing reference one hour a week now, with a few Sats here and there. So…I think the blog is slowly dying…It was a lifesaver during long, boring reference nights. But now… I feel like I’m trying to squeeze it in and it’s devolving. Oh well.

Oh, so since people had been raving about other yogurt places’ tart flavors, I tried some up in SF. Didn’t see what the name of the place was, but it’s near Fisherman’s Wharf…and it was a waste of money. So I’m sticking with Pinkberry. Although, I do think I am over my addiction now. My coworker dragged me there on Monday, and I promised him if he got me addicted again (I’ve been avoiding Pinkberry) then he was going to have to buy it for me. But while it still tastes insanely yummy, I don’t feel like I crave it anymore. Thank goodness.

Saturday I’m volunteering for some semiannual GOP convention way out in the desert somewhere…it’s supposed to be 110 out there! Ahhh….I’m gonna melt!

So…I was supposed to go see Kim in Wisconsin…and totally looking forward to it. But honestly, I don’t think I can do another trip right now. Even just for the weekend. Makes me tired just thinking about it. Maybe in November! Although there’ll probably be snow by then. I miss Wisconsin! Just not the snow. Not too much anyways.

OH, so I saw this ad from British Airways…you can fly to Europe any time from now till March next year for super cheap, and it includes a hotel for 3 days. I was looking at Greece and Rome. $629.00 for a round trip ticket and hotel for 3 days. $629? I paid more than that last year to fly to Maui! Crazy. Talk about a fun weekend getaway! Sigh….*dreaming…

Um…so this was a really random post. But that’s what’s new here. Mostly.

So I’ve been saving this thought for forever because I was going to blog about it, but apparently I don’t have time to sit and blog deep thoughts anymore. So here’s the thought all by itself:

“Blessing is not something we aim at directly. It is the byproduct of a life that aims instead at a right relationship to God and His kingdom.” Cameron Lee

from the book: Unexpected Blessing: Living the Countercultural Reality of the Beatitudes

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    September 23, 2009 1:04 pm

    Yeah, random post. lol Liked it. So, I’m kinda excited about fall, but not looking forward to being constantly cold for the next 5 months. It’s not nearly as cold as WI, but with the furnace in my house broken, we have to rely totally on our wood stove, which means starting a fire any time it gets below 60. Ugh.

  2. James permalink
    September 23, 2009 6:06 pm

    It snowed here on the last day of summer (September 21) and again a little today. I guess we’re gunna have a nice cold winter this year.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    September 23, 2009 6:12 pm

    Beck your furnace is broken? Are you going to fix it before winter?

    James it’s snowing in CO? That’s crazy. It’s in the 100s here again today! I would take some snow today. 🙂

  4. mysunshine20 permalink
    September 24, 2009 5:03 pm

    so 1. the ticket thing!!!! oh my goodness thats a good deal! 2.im def lookin forward to fall. 3. I feel you on the blog, it was a really good thing at first but now i dnt have any time for it…

  5. Becka permalink
    September 25, 2009 3:03 pm

    Jen, yep, when we got flooded, the furnace got destroyed. No, we are not getting it fixed before winter as we primarily heat with the woodstove anyways. As long as we have free wood, heating our house for the entire winter is free. Just building fires is a pain when it isn’t super cold. lol

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    September 25, 2009 3:58 pm

    Aw, that stinks. I’m sorry. 😦 Don’t freeze. Okay, you know what makes me laugh? When I remember how we would turn our heat up so much in the downstairs apt and then it would get so hot that we would be opening the windows bc it wouldn’t cool down even when we turned the heat off. lol.

  7. Becka permalink
    September 25, 2009 4:00 pm

    lol I know, we were sooooo crazy. It was partly bc that heater would take sooo long to do what we set the thermostat at. It would be kinda cold, so we’d turn it up – and up – and up. lol Then it would be soooo hot and take FOREVER to cool down. lol

Leave a Reply

