Skip to content

Thanks, Dr. G!

September 14, 2009

Last Friday I went with a friend to her church for a Sept 11th service. They had David Barton speaking (I hadn’t heard him before) and it was REALLY good. The service was okay, although I think our LEAD days are better as far as presentation goes.  But David Barton was really interesting! (pics later)

Last night at Jeff and Miriam’s we played Bible Jeopardy/Jeffardy. Steven and I were elected team captains, so of course my team had to win! Tom dubbed us the “Destroyers” and it was on. Okay, well anyways….My team took a big lead, then we slacked off and let the other team go ahead  (I don’t remember their team name). We tied the score eventually, went ahead, then fell behind. On the last question, we actually answered it right, but weren’t given the points for it. (Answer was “Dorcas” and we answered “Tabitha”….we tried to plead our case that both names refer to the same person, but no such luck. So oh well.) For the final jeopardy round we wagered 2,000 and the other team wagered all their money. They were up by 700 I think.  I owe it all to Dr. Gordon for getting the final question right. I just knew that I&II Corinthians class would pay off someday! That was the first class that I had with Dr. Gordon and my dad had told me how hard a teacher he was. He said that when he was a student, Dr. G wouldn’t give an “A” for anything. So I was kinda freakin’ out. I determined I was going to pass that class and get a good grade, no matter what. So I figured, “If I memorize the whole book, how hard can the class be then?” Yeah, I know, memorize all of I and possibly II Corinthians. Right. I had memorized books before, but I, II, and III John are in a slightly different class of…length. Well, I started off and memorized all of … the first 8 verses. Yeah, and I think then I realized the class was going to be a piece of cake (DON’T tell him I said that!) and I stopped.  But last night when Jeff asked us which Epistle started off with the words “Paul called to be an apostle of Jesus Christ through the will of God, and Sosthenes our brother” I was like, “sweet!”  So yeah, we won, and memorizing Scripture really does pay off. 🙂 You just never know when it’ll come in handy. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    September 14, 2009 2:15 pm

    lol Too funny! That’s awesome. I had heard horror stories of Dr. G’s classes too, but I think he might have softened a little, because I didn’t do too bad. lol I didn’t memorize the whole book(s) though! 🙂

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    September 14, 2009 2:26 pm

    Yeah, I think he definitely softened! His classes were pretty much a guaranteed “A,” lol
    Yeah, it was funny. I totally wouldn’t have known the answer otherwise!

  3. jaynepomuceno permalink
    September 14, 2009 6:21 pm

    He was cake back in my day, too.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    September 23, 2009 10:27 am

    Really? Wow…I guess since he’s been teaching forever…he finally decided to let up a little? 🙂

  5. Becka permalink
    September 23, 2009 10:29 am

    I’m not even sure that he actually read my papers. If I did them, had enough sources, and enough pages, I basically got an “A.” Loved it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

