Skip to content

All I Ever Wanted to Know About Printing

September 1, 2009

Today I learned that I would not be a good printer. I just get ink everywhere and make a mess!

Today all the staff/fac from our libraries went down to Carson to tour the International Printing Museum there. When we first got there, I have to say that I wasn’t expecting it to be that exciting. But after a yummy breakfast (including a Mt. Dew!), we started the “tour” and our guide was really funny and it was actually a really interesting experience. I feel like I learned a lot, and gained a greated appreciation for how readily available (and inexpensive)  books are for us today! We saw a million different kinds of printing presses, and got to use a few of them. That was when I learned that I was not made to be a printer. But it was fun nonetheless. Maybe it helped that my clothes were all ashy anyways from all the ash in the air (from the fires), so it didn’t matter too much that I added some ink along the way.

Printing pics 003

Here’s a pictures of my masterpieces from the day. As you can see, the ink is all smeared, and my letters aren’t lined  up correctly. But that wasn’t my fault since I didn’t set the letters in the press. 🙂

After we got back to APU, we noticed dark black smoke billowing nearby. I was thinking “nice, another fire!” Once I got to Foothill and Citrus, I could see people running away from Citrus College, and someone at the corner flagging down the firetruck as it was just arriving. I think it was a car on fire, and the flames were pretty big! Hopefully no one was hurt.

All the nearby fires have caused the sky to turn weird colors. Right now it’s dark gray and looks like a storm is blowing in. Earlier everything had a weird orange glow. It’s like it’s not just the sky, but you feel like you are walking through it. I guess maybe it’s all the ash in the air. Our cars were covered this morning, and when I tried to brush it off my skirt as it fell, it just smeared black. Nice. There’s ash all inside my car too. I can’t wait to clean my poor car once all this is over!

Yea, our A/C is working again! I had thought that Edison turned our air off, but I guess something had broken. Thank goodness Robert’s mom was able to fix it for us!!! Last night our house was 90 degrees! So…I slept at the back house!

At least I leave on Thurs (at 6 in the morning!) for Colorado! Hopefully that weather will be nicer!

Hope you all have a nice Labor Day weekend!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    September 2, 2009 7:05 am

    What an interesting experience! I like your printing samples.

    I am glad I’m not in CA, with all those fires and the ash everywhere! 🙂 Though I do miss you guys. 🙂

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    September 2, 2009 12:29 pm

    Yeah, I thought it was going to be boring, but it was fun. Thanks. 🙂

    Yeah, I’m so ready to be flying to Colorado! Can’t wait to get away from all the ash. Although it IS making for some pretty cool skies and sunsets! 🙂
    Miss you too!

  3. James permalink
    September 2, 2009 1:08 pm

    A couple days ago it smelled really smoky outside. I told my roommate there must be a forest fire or something around here. So he looked it up online and it said that all the smoke in the sky out here in Colorado is from the California fires. But most of it’s gone today so it should be nice and clear by the time you get out here.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    September 2, 2009 3:38 pm

    Wow, are you serious? I knew the smoke was all the way to Las Vegas, but that’s crazy if it’s in CO too. I saw a satellite pic of the fires and there is a ton of smoke everywhere so…wow. You can imagine how smoky it is here then if you could smell it there too. I’ve seen some crazy pictures of all the smoke blocking the LA skyline. You can barely see the skyscrapers behind the smoke, looks really cool.

  5. jaynepomuceno permalink
    September 3, 2009 1:39 pm

    Yeah, as Brenna and I were flying in and out of Denver, there was this dark haze blanketing the horizon. Heard on the news that night it was from back home.

    Ah, home, sweet, 100+ degree, smokey, home!

  6. September 8, 2009 8:58 pm

    Looks like a fun experience at the museum. Have a good trip to Colorado!

Leave a Reply

