Skip to content

Um…this is not Arizona, so why’s it so stinkin’ hot?

August 30, 2009

It’s hot here. Too hot. At 7:30 tonight my car said it was 99 degrees (and it’s been above 100 during the day). That’s Arizona weather. That’s not California weather. And I live in California. Not Arizona. And there’s a reason I don’t live in Arizona. It’s hot there. But apparently it’s hot here too.  I almost was an Arizona girl, did you know that? The game plan was for my parents to move back to AZ after graduation. But they stayed in CA. Whew. Close call! I would have melted by now. I think I’m melting right now. Edison decided to pick today to turn off our A/C. Yeah, pretty lame. So it’s 87 degrees in our house right now! I turned on the air today and then noticed that the temp was rising.  I was like ???? I’m sad. They still have it turned off, I checked. It’s 9 pm, please can we have the air back? They’ve never done this before so…I guess it had to come eventually, but still. Why couldn’t they have waited till say Thursday when I’m off in Colorado? 🙂 I’ve heard it’s 40 degrees in CO. Sounds WONDERFUL! Of course I’ll freeze to death once I’m there, but for now, I’m dreaming of snowy weather! (There’s a first time for everything)

It was even hot in Ventura this weekend! So you know it was hot down here! On the way out to Antonia’s, I stopped in Canoga Park to see Kim. She’s heading back to WI soon. So I’m thinking that since a girl needs a vacation every now and then, and I obviously haven’t been doing enough traveling… I might go out there and visit the beginning of October. I’m soooo excited just thinking about it. I miss WI soooo much! I was only there two years. But those two years were amazing. They were also some of the toughest years – nothing really that I could change – but I wouldn’t trade those years for anything! I learned so much and grew so much and was stretched in ways that I never could have predicted. It’s funny how you can go through things that are so painful and yet you can look back and not wish away those things. Yeah, if I could take away that pain and those heartaches, I would. I would take away the tears…I would wish to learn the lessons without the sadness…But God can still turn bad into good and work things for His glory.  And to experience His closeness during hard times is truly life changing. So I can’t regret the hard times that came along with the wonderful times. But anyways, that will be fun if it works out.

Ventura 09 001

Kim and I at Coffee Bean

Ventura 09 004

We tried a million times to take a pic of ourselves 🙂

After saying goodbye to Kim, I went on to Ventura.

Ventura 09 006

Funny “wind up” car in downtown

Ventura 09 027

The waves were so good. I wished I had a boogie board!

Ventura 09 012

The sun kept reflecting off the waves and looked like a million sparkling diamonds

Ventura 09 040

I totally wish I could jump in right now!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    August 31, 2009 8:19 am

    lol At least the humidity isn’t as bad!!! It gets in the 90s here, but with the humidity, I am sure it feels like 110 or so! Thankfully, the temperature is really nice today.

    That’s so fun that you got to see Kim. I love your haircut. It looks cute.

  2. August 31, 2009 8:13 pm

    The temps here are in the 70s. You will have to visit!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    September 1, 2009 6:15 pm

    True. Although the humidity would be nice for all the fires we have out here!
    70s sounds wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

