Skip to content

Skydiving is A.W.E.S.O.M.E!!

August 8, 2009
tags:

THAT WAS THE MOST INSANE THING I HAVE EVER DONE! LOL, PRETTY FUN, BUT PRETTY INSANE!

I’m sleepy so I’ll write more about it later and put up some pics. 🙂 Anyways…I survived..obviously. 🙂

Okay, I’m back.

Bucket list item # 5 skydiving

Woo hoo, I feel so good about that one! 🙂 I did it and I survived. I think most of my fears are unfounded, and conquering that one feels so empowering. 😉

This morning at 7 half of our group met at APU and then drove down to San Diego to meet up with the rest of our group. We went in and signed our waivers (which reading is enough to make you second guess your jump…)

Skydiving misc 002

Christy and I signing our waivers

Skydiving misc 003

Promising that I won’t sue them…promising that if necessary I have written a will…promising that I was given to read a copy of a lawsuit against the Lake Elisnore jump site…promising that I am signing over my life to them…

I don’t have any more pictures of the skydiving, but once I get them from Christy, I will post them. After signing our waivers, paying, etc., we went over and had a quick 5 minute lesson on what to do/not do when jumping out, etc. Then we got suited up and walked across a dry, dusty field to wait for our plane. As we were getting ready to get on I kept thinking “what in the world am I doing?” We squished a million people on that plane and then up we went! The ground looked sooo far away, it made me a little nervous. Halfway up to our 14,000 (? certif says 13,000 but one of the instructors said it was higher)  feet they had us unbuckle and then go sit on our instructor’s lap (I requested their only girl instructor since I thought that might be a little less…weird…) to get harnessed together. And then people started disappearing out the door! (It had been open for a while for ventilation) I was in the middle of the plane so it was our turn pretty quickly. Once we were at the door, we paused there for a second, and then we basically just fell out into…nothing…It was sooo weird. You are falling so fast (120 mph) that it’s REALLY windy!!! My hair was all over the place, and somewhere along the way I lost both my hair clip and my small stud earrings! (and when we landed my hair was incredibly tangled – and huge! My hair never gets tangled, but then I’m not usually jumping out of planes) During the freefall we were spinning around like crazy! From talking to my brother, I wasn’t sure that we were supposed to be doing that! But I guess our instructors were trying to give us more of a ride. I got a little dizzy from falling so fast and spinning at the same time! (Next time I will definitely ask them not to spin!) The wind is rushing at you so fast that it’s really hard to breathe normally! But I don’t think that I screamed at all. At least I don’t remember screaming. Pretty sure I was just concentrating on trying to gasp for air…and I DID keep my eyes open the whole time. Wow, the freefall was crazy, but I don’t remember really being scared at that point. I do remember thinking that it was pretty crazy and intense and felt weird (8,000 feet of free fall!)… Once she opened the parachute though and we stopped falling then it was just like flying. The views were amazing!! (Although my instructor liked spinning a lot and part of the time I was spinning too fast to really focus on anything!) And then after a bit she unhooked something so that I fell away from her a bit and then I could “sit” and hold the straps, instead of lying straight out and “flying.” Finally then my ears popped!! Thankfully!

I wished we could have stayed up there a lot longer, it was sooo much fun! (It was over way too fast!) Anyways, I would definitely recommend it and would totally do it again! (Minus the spinning part of course. I felt pretty sick once we landed! 😦 )

Skydive certificate 002

This certificate is going to be framed and hung next to my diplomas. 🙂

After skydiving we drove up to Little Italy for lunch at the recommendation of one of the Sky Dive employees. We had been told to go to some “Glass Door” restaurant, but ended up finding another restaurant along India street. (“India” street in Little “Italy”?) After a yummy Italian lunch we walked next door to a gelateria for gelato and then walked down to the marina. The weather was beautiful (of course) and it was such a nice day to be down by the water, eating gelato!! (Made me so happy)

Skydiving misc 015

Maritime Museum and submarine – lol, I wrote “subway” at first. Guess being in “Little Italy” made me really feel like I was back in Europe…

Here’s the link to the rest of the pics! Skydiving

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 12:33 pm

    Wow, that is crazy! You are brave. Glad you survived and had a good time. 🙂 How much does it cost to jump out of a plane? Not that I’ll be skydiving anytime soon. 😉

  2. Antonia permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:34 pm

    Sounds like so much fun!!!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    August 10, 2009 12:36 pm

    We got a group discount (which was only 10.00 off the regular price) so it was 179.00 per person. That’s the cheapest I’ve seen it around here. But I was told by a coworker that up in Northern CA you can go for 100.00, so I guess it just depends on your area. I would definitely recommend it! 🙂

  4. Becka permalink
    August 11, 2009 9:15 am

    Wow, so impressive. 🙂 That’s awesome. I totally enjoyed the pics as well. I loved reading about it!

  5. jaynepomuceno permalink
    August 13, 2009 8:25 am

    Crrrrrrrraaaaaazy!

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    August 13, 2009 12:44 pm

    lol, that’s what Luis said too.
    It was crazy, but a fun crazy! I think everyone should do it at least once. 😉

Leave a Reply

