Skip to content

Thoughts on thoughts…

August 6, 2009

So I was thinking some really deep thoughts the other day. This is the gist of those thoughts: “when I think about something, I end up wanting it.” Wow, deep, I know. This profound reality hit me when I started realizing that I was hitting up Pinkberry too often.  I can be sitting here at my desk, minding my own business, and all of a sudden I think “Pinkberry sounds really good right now.” And then I cannot stop thinking about it all day long! Seriously, it’s pathetic.  And then I either tell myself, “Jen, you just HAD Pinkberry yesterday” or…I go get some more. lol. I wouldn’t have this problem if Pinkberry was, say, in Diamond Bar or something…but it’s right across the street! But it’s not just Pinkberry. It’s Mexican food…Chinese food…food…Once I start thinking about it, even if I’m NOT hungry, then I get hungry and want Mexican, etc.  It’s a good thing I don’t gain weight easily (or at all!) But still… Last night we had some down time at the crisis center, so I was looking at some food magazines…bad idea…and then I had this overwhelming desire to start cooking right on the spot. I started copying down the recipes by hand…and then I had to stop looking at the magazines because I kept finding all these really good recipes, but my hand just couldn’t write anymore.

Or…when I think about traveling…then I can’t wait to be off on some new adventure! Tahiti…Bora Bora…Turks and Caicos…the list could go on for forever!

I guess this is why the Bible talks so much about our thoughts…they really are powerful and they really do affect us. I have found that the more time I spend in prayer/Bible reading, the more my thoughts tend towards the spiritual throughout the day. And I think I probably need more Bible than most! 🙂 (No amens!)

Moral of the story…I don’t know…

Oh, if you guys think of it, please pray for one of our patients at the crisis center! She’s going through a divorce and just had a miscarriage and she sounded really sad when I talked to her yesterday. Thanks so much!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Antonia permalink
    August 6, 2009 11:44 am

    You are so right about that thoughts thingy!

  2. Becka permalink
    August 7, 2009 9:10 am

    Ditto what Antonia said.

Leave a Reply

