Skip to content

Thanks, mlb.com!

July 10, 2009

Okay, I am on baseball cloud nine right now! And to think it all started with casting a few (or a lot) All Star votes. Mlb.com sent me a 12 day free trial of Mlb tv as a “thank you” for voting for the All Stars. All I really wanted was for a few Giants to represent (Pablo was so close, Lincecum and Cain were a given), and what do I end up with? A chance to witness baseball history! So even if it’s just a gimmick to get me hooked so that I subscribe, thanks Mlb.com!

I have to confess that I was a bit disappointed tonight when I saw that Sanchez was pitching. I mean, 2-8 isn’t the best record in the world. But I am a believer now! πŸ™‚ When Mlb.com sent me an email today saying that I would get a free trial starting tomorrow, I was stoked! Seriously! So then tonight, just for kicks, I thought I would log in and see if they had already set it up. And sure enough, it was letting me watch games! Score! I watched a little of the Blue Jays/Orioles (just because my brother and I had been like “who’s a Blue Jays fan?” So I had to give a little support), then I switched over and watched another game for a few minutes. Baseball heaven. Finally the Giants game came on at 7:15. What a game it was! Jonathan Sanchez started out hot and stayed hot the whole game. With the exception of once in the 8th and once in the 9th I don’t remember him even getting behind in the count! It was a beautifully pitched game! And the offense was on as well with 8 runs, including a homer from Pablo. Rowand made an awesome leaping catch late in the game to keep the no hit, shutout alive, and you could see the relief written on everyone’s faces! Unfortunately, Juan Uribe’s 8th inning error erased Sanchez’ hope of a perfect game.Β  The only blemish in an otherwise perfect outing! Sanchez’ father was in attendance, his first time watching his son pitch! He sure picked a good first game to come to!

JS

Sanchez pitched baseball’s first no hitter of the season, and he sure is a surprising one to do so! Maybe he has turned a corner…He sure has made a case for staying out of the bullpen, that’s for sure. Now the problem comes (I am assuming) of having a solid 6 man starting rotation. I am curious to see how they handle it. Right now Sadowski is down at San Jose (A), which the Giants say is because they aren’t going to need a #5 pitcher until July 21st (I am assuming that’s because of the All Star break). So after that, what then? If Sanchez can stay solid, which seems iffy, although supposedly he has worked out some serious kinks in his mechanics, and indeed he looked incredibly solid tonight, then we have 6 great starters! I would contend then that Randy Johnson is our weakest pitcher (incredible to even be saying that, but our pitching is really stellar this year! Lowest ERA in the majors, most shutouts, etc.). With Randy on the DL right now, I say maybe see how the others do and if they stay hot, maybe send Randy down for a bit. Who knows though.

So, Sanchez, one of our most inconsistent pitchers (at least until now) goes a complete game (his first ever), gets a shutout, and a no hitter at that, gets the win, and wins over the crowd! What a night! Our first no hitter since the 60s! And the first by a lefty since the 50s! Wow. I am sure Uribe is kicking himself for that error at third, it could have been an even more spectacular game! But it was spectacular enough!

So it was a great game, mlb tv is super insanely cool, but will I subscribe? No. I would love it, but I know my productivity would go waaaay down. I might be able to quote obscure facts and stats from teams people don’t even know still exist…ahem…Blue Jays…but would I accomplish anything else in life? Probably not. Mlb audio is good enough, I can cook dinner, do laundry, excercise, etc while I listen to the game. Maybe I’ll subscribe for a month of mlb tv in the post season, but till then I think I will keep on listening. (after my free trial is up of course) πŸ™‚

Go Giants!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    July 11, 2009 7:04 am

    Cool that you got a trial. Loved the baseball post. πŸ™‚

  2. July 14, 2009 9:23 pm

    Sounds like you’re a real baseball fan! I mostly just go to our boys’ games. Little League is over, but Park and Rec goes on. Go team!

  3. Princess Freckles permalink
    July 16, 2009 8:40 am

    Thanks for your comment on my blog! Have fun skydiving! After watching many people jump that day, I agree that free fall would be the hard part. After the parachute is opened, I think I’d love it! I love to snorkle and want to learn to scuba dive, so i can take that risk and you can jump from the plane! HA! Have a fun time! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

