Skip to content

Live active cultures?

July 9, 2009

Okay, so I like yogurt, I really do. I like frozen yogurt better, but regular yogurt is good too…but there’s just something about reading “Contains live active cultures including acidophilus and bifidus”  on the side of the container that does not sound appetizing at all.  “Live, active culture” makes me think of a Brazilian nightclub scene (oh the places Rick Steves will take you…) instead of something designed for human consumption. And “acidophilus and bifidus”? I don’t even want to go there… One article I read (okay, I didn’t really read it, but the first line jumped out at me) about bifidus said “In the case of bifidus, it has the tendency to overgrow.” To overgrow? I am not sure I want anything overgrowing in my yogurt…but especially something called bifidus…

Okay, so to totally change subjects…I had my first client/patient on Wed night at the crisis pregnancy center! I know, I have been there for 6 months already, so what have I been doing the whole time? Other stuff. lol. I have shadowed a few times (although I took the whole month of June off bc of my trip, among other things, so it’s been a while)…but every time I shadowed, people did things different ways (very confusing when you are trying to learn)…so since last night was slow, the head nurse walked me through everything step by step.  So maybe now I know what’s going on. 🙂 Hopefully. Anyways, the girl I had was really great, and it was a good situation, not a bad one, so she was a great first patient to practice on! Now if they can all be that easy…. 🙂 It’s the really tough situations that scare me! And most of the situations that we get there are tough ones so….not crossing my fingers. But I am sure it will be good for me…somehow.

We got our tickets to Colorado Springs the other day, yea! I tried to talk my mom into taking that money and flying to the Bahamas instead, but she just laughed.  😦 But it’s okay, I like Colorado Springs, and I like the Air Force Academy, and I like the football game, and of course I like James 😉 so I think it will still be fun! Just kidding, I know it will be fun!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jaynepomuceno permalink
    July 12, 2009 10:13 pm

    Hey, give those live active cultures a break! They’re very helpful little creatures, if you know what I mean.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    July 15, 2009 11:49 am

    lol

Leave a Reply

