Skip to content

MBBC memories

July 2, 2009

Last night I went out to Cornerstone Baptist in Fontana for their midweek service since the MBBC Messengers were there. I had originally planned to go see them at Central on Tues, but ended up going with the youth group to the youth rally down in Harbor City instead. So yesterday when I realized that they would still be within driving distance, I decided to go.  That was a lot of fun, I am glad I was able to go! Jolene goes to Cornerstone (although we didn’t meet till we were at MBBC), so it was nice to see another familiar face, as well as the Sikeles. I don’t know most of the team anymore, but it was fun to talk to those I did know. And listening to Geoff preach reminded me so much of Chip (his cousin) who was one of my student workers. Brought back lots of memories! Chip always made me laugh. I remember one time when I was going through old files and came across a stack of really old papers (duplicates) and since we only needed one copy, I gave the rest to Chip and told him (teasingly) to pass them out to everyone in the library. I don’t remember what the papers said, but it was something really funny and random (and very outdated). And he actually did it, riding around on the scooter, passing them out. It made me laugh to see people stop and read them.

The library was fun at night since it was kinda more kick back and we were all stuck there anyways. People would be coming in to “study” but I don’t know how much studying they actually got accomplished.
I remember the first snow we had that first year in WI. I was at work when someone started telling everyone that it was snowing outside… Everyone was going outside and playing in it…I think that was probably the only time I really appreciated the snow. Once I realized it was going to keep on snowing for about 5 more months, it quickly lost it’s charm. Although I did always think the huge icicles that hung outside our office window were cool.

I have sooo many memories of that place…I remember going to the solarium every night when I was working to watch the sunset for a few minutes. I don’t know if the sunsets are prettier in WI, or if it was just the fact that I could actually see them, without the view being obstructed by buildings, but I did see many beautiful sunsets there!

One of my coworkers, Rich, would often work late, and started having tutoring sessions and prayer meetings (at least that’s what they said, but it usually sounded more like a party 🙂 ) in his office and I remember always trying to convince him that they needed to order pizza. Sometimes he actually would, but he would always make me call and order it, and then go pick it up as well, but he was paying so it was worth it.

I remember Mrs. Mayes and I always “editing” the emails, etc that came across our desks and computer screens. We just couldn’t help it.  🙂 I remember Clint posting his “dance recital” information on the message board at the front of the library…lol…and someone always pushing the alarm button in the elevator…and people teasing that I was the one doing it, just so I could see the firemen. (Riiight) I remember the huge laminating machine…and all the laminating that I did. It was fun though, for some reason I liked it (probably because it broke up the monotony of doing the old files)…And I remember spending countless hours there on my days off, studying and writing a million papers! Seriously! The library was like my second home (especially since we had class there too!)…the library, our apartment, and Calvary in Sun Prairie…my 3 WI homes. 🙂 Fun times! 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 8:08 pm

    Sounds like you have some fond memories of Maranatha.

  2. Antonia permalink
    July 2, 2009 9:49 pm

    How funny – your story of Chip kind of reminds me of “things” from high school. Mainly apologizing to people for things you “didn’t” say! Memories …

  3. Antonia permalink
    July 2, 2009 9:53 pm

    …Hey, I’m thinking I should get you guys back! Does “Jeff” ring a bell? j/k

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    July 3, 2009 6:26 pm

    Tonia…hmmm, neither “things” nor “Jeff” rings a bell… I remember you going up to one person and telling him that you “didn’t” like him, or something like that…is that what you mean? 🙂

  5. Becka permalink
    July 6, 2009 10:33 am

    I remember those papers that Chip handed out. lol I don’t remember what they said either, but it was funny. I think I was studying that night, not actually working though. and I totally remember Clint’s “Dance Recital.” lol Too funny. Great times.

Leave a Reply

