Skip to content

We’re HERE

June 13, 2009

Okay, I am SO out of it, so this might not make any sense. But we will give it a shot. I paid 14.o0 for one hour of internet, so you all better read this, lol. 🙂 Flight went well, we didn’t sleep much though. 😦 I LOVE British Airways, it was really nice!!!! 🙂 We sat next to two guys traveling back to London and one of them was reading a big fat script. So we asked him what it was for and he said a “feature.” I’m like “a movie?” He’s like “yeah.” I asked if he was famous and he said no, but then we saw his picture on an ad in the subway, it was really weird. lol. (pic below) Melinda saw it first and was like “That’s the guy we sat next to!” So I took a pic of the poster.

London 09 043

Anyways, by the time we got to our h0tel, it was only like 20 minutes till David (hair buyer) was supposed to meet us! I was a mess, with no makeup on…etc. It was kinda nuts. And we couldn’t check into our room for a few more hours they said! So they let us go down to the gym where they had changing rooms, etc. So we kinda took over the whole place, our stuff was everywhere. Somehow Melinda ended up setting up camp in the men’s changing room (we didn’t really notice there were designations) and when hotel staff came down, they seemed a bit bothered. They kept coming down and asking if we knew we were in the men’s room (it was tiny) we kept telling them yes and I am sure they thought we were really dumb Americans. But we were in such a hurry to get ready and no one else was down there (plus the lighting in the guys’ room was WAY better than the girls. Not really fair, lol) So anyways, and then when David arrived I had to bring him down to the gym to cut the hair since we didn’t have anywhere else to go. I was afraid the hotel staff was really going to freak out when they saw all of us in that room, with him cutting off my hair. Thankfully we didn’t get kicked out, although the hotel staff probably thinks we are really weird. Oh, backing up a bit, lol, they drive crazy here. (Although I am sure not as crazy as Asian countries) I remembered that from last time, when I got kinda sick on the crazy ride from the airport to the hotel. This time was no different, and someone rear ended the little van that was taking us to the hotel. Nice, just what we needed, another delay. 🙂 Thankfully it didn’t seem to be too bad and we were off again in no time. Okay, anyways, so David cut my hair off, and actually left me with more hair than I was expecting, so that was nice! 🙂 I thought I would be really sad, but maybe it just hasn’t hit me yet. Then we took the tube over to the salon (Saco), which was really nice! I guess for the price we paid it should be! 🙂 The girl did a really good job, and was really thorough. It took her 2 hours to do it, and there was hardly any hair left to work with!

London 09 014

Getting my hair cut

London 09 033

At St. Paul's Cathedral

From there we went to St. Paul’s Cathedral to take some pics and then David showed us around a bit and he left us at the Millennium Bridge. So we walked around a bit, then took the tube over to Harrod’s to look around and shop.

I am SOOOO wiped out. I have been dizzy all day, like I feel like I am on the plane still and it’s swaying back and forth or something. So I can’t wait to go to bed. Since neither of us slept much on the flight over, we are both so tired. Tomorrow’s plan is to go to Metropolitan Tabernacle for church in the morning and then see the sights that are over there. In the evening we have tickets for Romeo and Juliet at the Globe. Then on Monday we will take the ferry from Dover over to Calais, France. Anyways, I am trying to upload a bunch of pics here, but it’s being SOOO slow and now it’s not even working anymore. 😦 Okay, grrr, this 14.00 internet is not working very well… 😦 Okay, I have tons of pics I wish I could post, but I better quit while I am still ahead so I don’t lose all this again. 😦 Okay, sorry these thoughts are all mixed up. But…that’s just the way it’s gonna be. Hotels in the UK are so funny. Our shower has no door, and one wall is a mirror so you can watch yourself taking a shower. Weird. And our bathroom door is glass, lol.

Chocolate at Harrods

Chocolate at Harrods

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Miriam permalink
    June 13, 2009 5:20 pm

    I totally love your haircut!!! It looks great!

  2. June 13, 2009 9:12 pm

    I am glad you are having a good time! 🙂

  3. S.J. permalink
    June 14, 2009 9:51 pm

    ahhhhhh its so short! it must be soooo light!

  4. christy permalink
    June 14, 2009 11:22 pm

    Thanks for logging on and posting the 2 pictures like u promised! Your hair looks great! I can’t believe it took 2 hours!!! It sounds like you’ve already done so much!! I know you’re going to have a blast! I’m glad to know you’re safe hahaha…can’t wait to hear the rest of the stories and see the pix when u get back!!

  5. heather permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:48 am

    hey jen
    i like your hair, it looks really nice. I hope you have fun.

  6. Becka permalink
    June 15, 2009 9:00 am

    I LOVE your hair. It looks so cute! You DO look good in a bob. Thanks for posting the pics. That is so awesome. I enjoyed the funny ancedotes. Can’t wait to hear about the rest of your trip! 🙂 Wow, your hair is so cute.

  7. Antonia permalink
    June 15, 2009 11:50 am

    Your hair looks so cute! I hope you guys have a great time!!!

  8. nurseseekingamission permalink
    June 15, 2009 12:07 pm

    Jen, I love it. I hope that you are having a great time. Don’t miss the hair too much. Enjoy the accent for me. lol!!!

  9. aleassa permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:42 am

    The hair looks great! Really really nice. And I bet the curls will look just right in an inch or 2. 🙂 Have fun in Europe!

  10. jenmarie permalink*
    June 23, 2009 12:40 pm

    Thanks everyone. 🙂
    Hannah, I definitely enjoyed the accents for you! (One of my fave parts of the UK. I could listen to them all day! Definitely my favorite accent)

Leave a Reply

