Skip to content

Memories…

May 29, 2009

All this Famous Dave’s buzz lately got me thinking about the first time I went to Famous Dave’s. It was 2005 and we were in Arizona on our college senior trip. We went out and stayed at the San Marcos Golf Resort in Chandler, AZ and went to a few spring training games. Of course baseball fans know Arizona (and Florida) as the ultimate mecca in the Spring, and we certainly had a blast! We got autographs, photos, beach towels, sunburns, etc. It was pretty much amazing. Then one night we went to Famous Dave’s, which Luis christened (accidentally) “Incredible Willie’s.” Of course we all fell in love with the place and have since been to many locations around the US.

That of course got me thinking about everything else that happened in 2005. Wow. Graduated from college, woo hoo! The day I had looked forward to for four long years! Then it was off to Fiji for my first trip outside the US! I know, I got a seriously late start to my world travels (trying to make up for it now 🙂 ) Then a few days later we were off on a road trip halfway across the country. That was a happy/sad time for sure. Sad to be leaving the greatest state of all to go live in wild, unknown tornado country, sad to be leaving family, friends and coworkers. Ecstatic to be off on an adventure and exploring a new state, ecstatic to be getting our own place and meeting new friends.

I guess those were probably the most momentous things that happened in 2005. Well, that are repeatable, lol.

Then for some reason I was thinking about my favorite teachers of all time. (Side note: it’s not a good idea to get lost in rabbit trail thoughts when you are putting on mascara!!! Then your next thought has to be “how do I get all these layers off that I just absentmindedly put on?”) Anyways…I was remembering in college how Dr. Cantrell was the coolest history teacher ever and how he inspired us all to want to take a class trip to Europe to see things like the Louvre and the Code of Hammurabi….of couse we weren’t able to take a trip as a whole class, but I definitely decided then that I would go someday. And now I am finally going! Dr. Cantrell was definitely my favorite professor of them all! Absolutely LOVED his classes, learned so much and had a blast!

I think my favorite teacher in elementary school was definitely Miss Hecker. Anyone remember her? She was AWESOME! Loved her! We all loved her. And everyone would always pray in class that she would find a husband. lol. Looking back now I can see how that was probably really annoying!!! 🙂 But she always laughed. And she did finally get married so I guess our prayers worked. 🙂 I think it was that same year (6th grade?) also that seriously all the girls in the class liked this one guy (Jordan)! lol, I think I was the only one who didn’t like him. I swear I didn’t like him. And someone (I’ll leave the names out, lol) was daring other girls to go in the empty classroom and kiss his chair! Seriously. How lame is that? And someone actually did it (maybe more than one? I only remember one girl doing it though).  6th grade girls…wow…And we all thought we were so mature too…

Ha ha, fun memories.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    May 29, 2009 1:11 pm

    Wow, nice walk down memory lane. I know I didn’t kiss Jordan’s chair. lol I loved Dr. Cantrell and Miss Hecker too! Awesome.

  2. jaynepomuceno permalink
    May 29, 2009 5:08 pm

    Lemme guess … it was either Jennifer Hollis or Nellie’s idea and Brittany kissed the chair!

    C’mon, I nailed it!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    May 29, 2009 5:20 pm

    Wow, lol. I guess you already heard this story? 🙂

  4. Antonia permalink
    May 30, 2009 12:09 pm

    Robert and I really enjoyed Dr.Cantrell’s classes too!

Leave a Reply

