Skip to content

17 days

May 26, 2009

17 days till we are in EUROPE! Can’t wait!

So maybe I am a dork, but I love reading people’s travel blogs. Of course I don’t know any of these people, but it’s fun to read about the different cities and countries that they are traveling in…and of course I look at their pictures too. lol, at first it felt really weird, but it’s a really great way to get a feel for different countries and get tips on what to see/do etc. And now I am hooked. 🙂 I officially love travel blogs! I think I would have liked to grow up in Australia. For some reason it just seems to be the official “thing to do” to travel Europe when you graduate from High School there. I don’t know who started that cool tradition, but it’s a great idea! 🙂 I’ve read lots of Aussie travel blogs, and we had lots of Australians on our trip last time! More Australians than Americans. Actually, it was quite a diverse group with people from Thailand, India and the Netherlands as well. It’s so much fun getting to know people from all over the world! We had such a great time with the people from our group last time!

Some girlfriends and I were talking on Sunday about where we want to go next. 🙂  We were thinking a Greek isles cruise or an Egyptian cruise. Sigh. Dreaming… So many countries…

So yesterday, instead of doing something really cool for Memorial Day (I seriously thought about it though – still gotta fit in skydiving, although it might not work till Sept! 😦 ) I decided I better start getting all my shopping done. Number one on the must have list was a new ceramic flat iron. If I am going to have really short hair I have to be able to straighten it every day so I need a new straightener that doesn’t damage my hair (theoretically). So I went to the Jose Eber stand at Ontario Mills. I had been there a few months ago and a guy there had straightened ALL my hair (it was really curly too!) in like 20 mins. It was SO stick straight too, pretty amazing! I had thought I knew the price before I went, but supposedly the one I wanted was like $70 more than I had thought, and it was already pretty expensive…So….we did a little bartering (which I don’t think I have ever done before, even in Fiji where supposedly if you DON’T barter you are getting ripped off). Supposedly the original price was $250.00 which I really don’t think I could spend (if I keep spending money because I am getting my hair cut, then it kinda defeats the purpose)…so supposedly I was getting a good deal already…but then he said he would give me the travel iron free (it’s the cutest thing ever, looks like it’s for straightening doll hair. Not sure if it will work on my thick hair, but it was free…and cute…) So, got that accomplished. Then to find some jeans…kinda got that accomplished, although I think I will exchange them, so…guess that didn’t help much… Looked the whole mall over and couldn’t find my elusive blue shirt that I want to get the pics done in…got a few other things for the trip…Anyways, so now pretty much I just need all the little last minute travel things like shampoo/cond…Getting super excited. Now if I can only get completely over being sick everything will be great! 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 11:46 am

    Way to barter! Can’t wait to see your short hair. 🙂

  2. jaynepomuceno permalink
    May 26, 2009 3:05 pm

    You read travel blogs, some people read food blogs. We’re all dorks in one way or another.

    I can almost taste my chocolates!

  3. jaynepomuceno permalink
    May 26, 2009 3:28 pm

    Off topic: How ’bout those Padres? Hope you’ll be able to keep up with them on your trip.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    May 26, 2009 4:47 pm

    lol, I was hoping you hadn’t noticed them take over second place. 🙂 Yep, got your chocolates on my list of stuff to bring back. 🙂

  5. Becka permalink
    May 27, 2009 5:32 am

    Hey, what are you going to do with your old flat iron? 🙂

    You’ll have to send me a pic of the “cute” one. lol

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    May 27, 2009 7:33 am

    Oh yeah, I was gonna give it away. You can have it if you want it. 🙂

  7. Becka permalink
    May 27, 2009 10:32 am

    I would love to have it. 🙂 You’re a true friend. lol

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    May 27, 2009 11:35 am

    I’ll send it to you when I send your bday present 🙂 I’m gonna look for something in Europe – so let me know if there’s anything you are dying to have. Within reason. lol 😉

  9. Becka permalink
    May 27, 2009 11:38 am

    Sounds like a plan. Umm.. can’t think of anything I am dying to have. I’m pretty easy to please. I LOVED my gift(s) last year. You are “da bomb” when it comes to gift shopping. Don’t go too expensive on me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

