Skip to content

Jennifer and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

May 20, 2009

Okay, so you know you have worked in libraries way too long when you:

1. Think in book titles. (That title should actually be “Alexander” instead of “Jennifer” but then it wouldn’t have made much sense…)Β 

2. Think in Dewey Decimal numbers (Seriously, I used to come home and night and see the digital clock reading 9:29 and think “genealogy” or 6:36 – “animals”, etc. You’ve been there way too long when you have the whole Dewey system memorized, and you weren’t even trying to!)

3. You dream at night that you are shelving books…all night long! Horrible! Thankfully I haven’t dreamed that in years, now I just dream things like Obama is sending manned spy planes after everyone and if you try and hide he will send you away on a train….

Okay, but anyways, I really did have a Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day yesterday! It started by having to be at work at 6:30 in the morning. That should have been my first clue that the day wasn’t going to go so well. (I am NOT a morning person) I don’t even usually get UP till 6:30! Then I had a very bumpy ride in the backseat of my coworker’s car all the way to Anaheim (thankfully at least Anaheim isn’t that far away.) So I was nice and carsick by the time we arrived at the Hilton (for a conference for work). By the time we made it inside, I felt really sick! I went to the first two sessions, ate part of my lunch, took a walk with my coworkers, and then came back in for another session. By now I had started to feel really awful and was realizing that this was much more than carsickness! I texted my mom to see if she could come pick me up (the conference wasn’t over till 5:30 and I wasn’t sure I could make it that long) and thankfully she was able to! YEA! She drove me back to APU to pick up my car, and had brought Tom along so that he could drive my car home. We get to APU and I go to get my keys…and they aren’t there. So…we go back home and leave my car there. I had no idea where my keys could be, I figured maybe I had lost them at the hotel, or – hopefully – I had left them in my coworker’sΒ car. At this point I just wanted to get home and sleep, I didn’t even care about the keys. I knew I had an extra set at home and could always get another house key. On the way home though I remembered that I still needed to vote, and I knew there was no way I would want to go back out once I got home, so we stopped to vote. (Yea, all the tax increases were soundly defeated!) Then my coworker texts me to say that she found my keys, another yea! Then Tom went and picked up my car, AND he even put the car cover on for me. πŸ™‚ Definitely another yea! (He even went and got me 7Up and orange juice this morning, definitely gets the good brother award! πŸ™‚ ) – so I guess at least my bad day had lots of “yeas” in it. It could have been much worse…

I don’t remember the last time I had the flu, but wow, it’s no fun! 😦 I think I have the swine flu. lol. My mom says it’s probably just a regular old flu, but it sounds much more exciting to say it’s the swine flu. I mean, if I really have to be sick…

So hopefully I will get better soon… I haven’t even bought travel insurance yet, so getting sick kinda freaked me out! Gotta hurry up and do that! But anyways…. PLEASE pray that I get better soon and that I didn’t get all my coworkers sick! 😦

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Antonia permalink
    May 20, 2009 11:11 am

    Hope you get better soon! I just got over the flu and it’s no fun.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    May 20, 2009 1:28 pm

    Thanks! πŸ™‚

  3. May 20, 2009 8:35 pm

    Next time you are in Anaheim and need to leave a conference because you are sick…call me. I don’t live that far away. πŸ™‚ I hope you get better soon.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    May 21, 2009 6:48 am

    Oh, thanks! πŸ™‚ As we drove past Haster on the way over there I was like “I think Renae lives off Haster.” You do, right? Or at least close to there…

  5. Becka permalink
    May 21, 2009 7:51 am

    Ugh. I’m so sorry. lol I knew that the title of this post came from a book. I know, it’s kinda sad. lol I hope you feel better soon. Ugh. Flu. Gross.

  6. May 21, 2009 12:37 pm

    Yes, I live right on Haster. Were you on the 22 fwy? Because if you were then you drove right past my house! πŸ˜‰

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    May 21, 2009 2:05 pm

    Beck – ha ha, yeah it made me laugh because it was the first thing I thought of when I got home. πŸ™‚
    Renae – um, I am pretty sure it was the 91. I wasn’t the one driving (obviously, lol) and wasn’t paying much attention, but I’m pretty sure… I just remember “Haster” bc of when I left your house to go over to the Block and you had given me directions on how to get back… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

