Skip to content

Quakes game

May 17, 2009

Friday night the college class from LBC went to a Quakes/Jethawks game over in Rancho Cucamonga.

Quakes 09 003

Part of our group

Quakes 09 001

If you are a baseball fan you know how much fun it is to go to minor league games and see all the prospects/newly signed players, etc. I think if the San Jose Giants (one of our single A teams) were closer I would probably be there all the time. I hadn’t been to a Quakes game for probably 5 or 6 years. Some things have changed, and a lot is still the same. Tremor and Aftershock are still kind of annoying. There is a new mascot (I guess) dressed in a bull outfit. I gave him a high five (brave for me considering all my past experiences with Tremor!) and he wouldn’t let go of my hand, I’m not sure what he was doing but anyways…I guess all mascots are weird and to be avoided.

Quakes 09 004

We got to the game a few minutes before game time, but had to wait for everyone to show up. We got our tickets and got inside shortly after it had started, but the Quakes were already losing. They mounted a comeback late in the game and then went ahead. The Jethawks tied it in the top of the 9th, much to our dismay since it meant then that we had to at least go into the bottom of the ninth, if not into extra innings. By this time it was already after 11 pm and there was still a fireworks show to come! At this point in the game, most of our group had already left. There were only four of us left and we decided that we would rather go find a Denny’s and get some food than stay to the end of the slow-moving game. I think that might be the only baseball game where I have actually been ready to leave before it was over.

But going to the game brought back lots of fond memories of the place. I have been to so many Quakes games! We used to stay late after the game to get autographs and pictures. Several of those players are either in the majors now, or were at least there for a little while and it is/was  fun to see them playing for the Angels. I did get a few autographs and pictures with some of the San Jose Giants when they were down playing the Quakes once. The only person I remember though is Matt Cain, whose autograph I accidentally threw away. 😦 I still have the picture I took with him though. I remember at the time I told him I wanted it for when he was famous, not knowing if he would ever make it to the majors, since many of them don’t. Now he’s on our (Giants) starting rotation though, and has been for a few years. It is sooo much easier to get autographs/photos before these guys make it up to the majors. When they are still in the minors there aren’t crowds of fans to have to deal with! 🙂

Quakes autographs 004

Matt Cain and I when he was with the San Jose Giants

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 7:28 pm

    I have the hard ball that I got and had Matt Cain sign. Such fun times… “Are you a player?” my question to Casey Kotchman. lol Taking pics with Ryan Buddy, Casey Kotchman, Nick Kimpton, Richard Thompson just to name a few! 🙂 I still have a lot of those pics also.

  2. jaynepomuceno permalink
    May 17, 2009 9:39 pm

    Go Padres!

    Please stay out of the cellar.

  3. Becka permalink
    May 18, 2009 7:35 am

    I have lots of fun memories from Quakes games. lol Thanks for bringing them up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

