Skip to content

Home again!

May 7, 2009

Okay, I love traveling (except the whole being stuck on an airplane for hours part) but it’s always nice to come back home at the end and sleep in your own bed, get back into a normal routine, etc. So I am sitting here going through emails and stuff and my dad just called to say that Manny Ramirez got suspended for 50 games starting tonight for having a banned substance. That is so awesome! 🙂 I know, all the Dodger fans are gonna side with him and his “prescription from a doctor” theory but come on…now you all can take that for giving me grief over Bonds – which was never proven btw. 🙂 Ha ha, anyways, maybe that will take some wind out of their sails…we can always hope.

Okay, so all the DC pics are up in the Picasa gallery. We saw the Supreme Court (had a kinda funny lunch experience there, but if you want to avoid all the tourist crowds, eat at the cafe there. We all had BLTs and they were yummy!) National Archives, Library of Congress (of course), Capitol, White House, Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Tidal Basin, Changing of the Guard at Arlington National Cemetery, the Botanical gardens, the WWII Memorial, the Korean War Memorial, a little of the Holocaust Museum (they were closing in 10 minutes when we got there), umm…there was probably more but I can’t remember it all right now. 🙂

I think this is my favorite picture of all the ones we took.

washington-dc-amish-tour-and-de-1811

Near the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

I think Beck is going to take the time to actually write about what we did so I won’t…

Anyways, it was fun to see Beck again and hang out. We didn’t end up going to Cape May since the weather looked like it wasn’t going to be very nice. 🙂 But other than that I think we did most everything on our list… lol, so I brought home some stuff that Tim had left when he was at Beck’s and…I left some of my own stuff there. 🙂 So instead of waiting for the next crew to bring it home to me I had to run to Wal Mart  after I got in last night. (I didn’t figure I could wait months for a toothbrush, toothpaste, and floss!) 🙂 While there I ran into my Wal Mart friend. I don’t even know this guy at all, but one day he called out to me as I walked by, and ever since then he always calls out “hey Red” every time he sees me. He told his coworker last night, “she’s one of our frequent fliers” – which I thought was funny considering I had literally just flown in. At lunch yesterday in the airport, the guy who was sitting behind me got up to throw away his trash and then he stopped by my table. I figured he was going to comment on my praying before I ate, since sometimes people will do that. Instead, all he said was “you know red is special, don’t you?” Then he smiled and left. It was kinda funny. Especially since after he left, a redhead and her redheaded son came and sat near me, and then another redhead and her friend came and sat close as well! Reminded me of this week…Everywhere Beck and I went it seemed we ran into redheads, which of course then made a small crowd of us (3s a crowd, right?) 🙂 Anyways…

This morning I woke up bright and early at 6 AM (actually earlier), too bad I didn’t have to go to work today! If only the time difference will work tomorrow too so I won’t have any problem getting to work on time! 🙂 I was up and had my car washed, laundry started, breakfast eaten, etc. all before 7 AM…if you know me you know that is not normal – especially for staying up “late” (East Coast time) last night.

Anyways, I think I have rambled on long enough now…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    May 8, 2009 8:17 am

    Had so much fun! And I did write a more detailed post of what we did in DC. Oh, and that was funny about all the redheads we saw. And yesterday, this brother, and two sisters came in the library all with red hair. Definitely a crowd. lol

  2. May 8, 2009 11:52 am

    Wow, you saw a lot of sites in DC! We want to visit there sometime. Beautiful photos too!

  3. jaynepomuceno permalink
    May 8, 2009 9:33 pm

    No pic of the BLTs?

  4. May 9, 2009 7:01 am

    lol, no, but we have pics of the BBQ… 🙂

Leave a Reply

