Skip to content

The fancy ladies

April 23, 2009

I’ve been meaning to put up pictures from the vintage fashion show that Jane and I were in so here they are a few. ๐Ÿ™‚ It was an interesting experience, kinda fun. I had always thought it would be fun to dress up in an old, big dress like they wear at Knott’s Berry Farm and I finally got to do it! Wow, that thing was hot, uncomfortable and heavy! (the skirt alone was 20 pounds!) On top of the dress, they also had me wear this cape thing that really added to the weight/heat. ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually though, the most uncomfortable thing was trying to zip up the skirt! It took three people actually to dress me, it was kinda funny. And I was pretty sure that skirt was not going to zip up, but it did! Wow, they had very tiny waists back then! Whenever back then was, I didn’t hear the time period for the dress that I was wearing, but it was the 3rd oldest dressย  of all 19 of them. Then after the dress and cape, someone added some silly feathers to my hair, and had me hold a colorful ostrich fan! Ha ha, oh well, it was a fun experience. I was so happy toย  change back into jeans and a t-shirt afterwards! It made me very thankful that we don’t have to dress like that today! Everywhere I went I had to be careful because the long skirt would catch on things or I would step on it (or usually other people would step on it!) . A very stressful ensemble for sure! ๐Ÿ™‚

There is a lady at my church who always calls me “Fancy Lady” whenever she sees me. The first time she called me that I was confused till she explained that her granddaughter would call me that when she was trying to explain to her grandmother who she was talking about (“you know, that fancy lady”) lol, makes me laugh. So even though her granddaughter moved away, she still calls me that. I don’t usually feel like a “fancy lady” but wearing that dress I definitely did!

fashion-show-31

Getting dressed

fashion-show-8

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    April 23, 2009 11:17 am

    wow. Reminded me of Anne of Green Gables. lol Looks fun (and definitely hot), but thanks for posting the pics! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    April 27, 2009 11:08 am

    Ahh, Anne of Green Gables…my favorite. I wonder why…lol (you just gotta love feisty redheads who hit boys over the head with their slates. lol) ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

