Skip to content

Did you do your good deed today?

March 28, 2009

Today was insanely awesome! One of those truly fantastic days…It started off with a super cool walking tour of the famous city of LaVerne. (Actually it started off with a doorknocking blitz and a hugongous sandwich for lunch) If you have never done the walking tour of LaVerne, you have really missed out! It’s legendary. Our tour (we did the short version due to time constraints) featured such highlights as the FUN bush, the astroturf lawn, and the FUN flowers (like I said, it was insanely fabulous). I had never met the fun bush before, so I am indebted to Renae and Heather for introducing me. It was fun like no other. See pictures below.

Β 

hike-017

Petting the astroturf lawn

hike-0252

Heather and Renae planting flowers from the fun tree in the astroturf lawn.

hike-027

THE fun bush!

Then it was on to Big Five for the hiking pass. This seemingly ordinary stop turned out to be life changing! I never expected it to be such, but it was! It was there that I stumbled upon THE rolling piece of carry-on luggage that I absolutely had to have. They were having an awesome sale and I got it for $10! I was super excited because ever since I borrowed Hannah’s for the Alaska trip (it saved my life), I have been in love with them! So that pretty much made my day. πŸ™‚ Then it was on to the hiking trail! I have no idea what time we got there, but we got there. We had lots of fun climbing rocks and creating our own trails, exploring some weird cavish sort of hole in the rock, finding pieces of an airplane wreck. It must have been a pretty intense plane crash because we found pieces of that metal along the whole trail! I figured it must have exploded, sending pieces everywhere. (We surmised it was a plane crash because that made it more exciting and really, why else would there be pieces of metal all over the woods?)…Then we finally made it to THE waterfall. (We were bummed that there wasn’t a volcano, but at least there was a waterfall. It would have been a major letdown if there had been nothing at the end of the trail!) The waterfall was sorta just trickling, so we figured it was low tide or something, because really, why would you have a waterfall with not much water? So we just picked a bad time toΒ come :), but anyways, we made it quite the adventure, complete with a mini rockslide thanks to the guys climbing the side of the mountain. Seriously, there were some decent sized rocks flying by, we almost got killed. A few of the guys climbed to the top of the waterfall…we couldn’t convince them to jump in. I don’t know why…I thought the water would feel good. But anyways…then Ralph caught a salamander and that was fun. It looked kinda slimy… Sarahjane, Ruth and I also climbed this killer tree. It was very dangerous, but we perservered and conquered it. Then it was on to Bravo Burger for an insanely awesome dinner! It probably helped that we were all starving to death. But seriously, Bravo Burger is pretty fabulous. I love them because they serve tons of Mexican food as well as burgers. It’s pretty sweet! I stuffed myself on Carne Asada nachos, which were super awesome.

And then…my good deed for the day. I gave my leftover food to a homeless person. Seriously. It was the weirdest thing ever! We are all sitting around our tables hanging out talking with this guy walks up to me and says “can I have that?” I actually looked behind me because I had no idea what he was talking about. And then I realized he was talking about my leftover nachos! I was like “most definitely!” Then I asked if he wanted my soda too. He laughed and said no. It was kinda funny…actually, it was weird. But it made me laugh. He was nice though. Then as we were leaving…well, as I was leaving…everyone else decided to go terrorize the mall or something and I decided I had had waaay too much fun for one day so I left…..I had another homeless person help me back my car out of the parking spot. Only I didn’t realize he was there, or that he was helping, till everyone in our group pointed him out and I turned and saw him right next to my car. Kinda freaked me out a little because I wasn’t expecting that. So now I know that all the homeless people hang out at Bravo Burger. And Santa Monica.

Β 

hike-037

hike-047

hike-052

hike-048

hike-063

hike-085

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    March 28, 2009 11:10 pm

    Jen, you’re write…that tree was so terrifying. . .but we are SO TOUGH!!! Doesn’t get much more intensely cool than the 4 of us girls! πŸ™‚
    And that was pretty awesome about your good deed thing. . .my brother has a thing about good deeds. What is it he always says??? πŸ™‚

  2. Robb permalink
    March 29, 2009 11:26 pm

    u are so nobale! πŸ˜›

  3. Becka permalink
    March 30, 2009 7:47 am

    Those pics were fabulous! I especially like the one with the sunrays. πŸ™‚ Beautiful. Sounds like a fun day!

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    March 30, 2009 11:30 am

    lol, yes, definitely noble. πŸ˜‰
    The rest of the pics are up under the “pictures” link (Hike 09)

Leave a Reply

