Skip to content

Bball and a hike

March 28, 2009

Okay, I am so ready for a vacation! Getting super excited about this summer… but in the meantime…life goes on…

Yesterday after work I got James and we drove out to Bloomington (ghetto) for the last day of the bball tournament. I hadn’t been able to make it to the other days, but both the girls and guys were playing yesterday so that was fun. The guys beat their team pretty easily and that was a really fun game to watch. 🙂 The girls, unfortunately lost their game and that was a hard game to watch. 😦  We got several awards after the tournament was over, Tommy got league MVP so that was fun. The guys were awarded second place for the season, even though we technically won first for the league – somehow stats hadn’t been turned in for one of our season wins. So we got second on a technicality, kinda sad for the seniors. We also should have automatically gotten at the very least, second place in the tournament and not had to play so many games, but that too was affected by our season “record.” It’s always a bummer to lose or get second (when you are a 1st place team) but especially when you know it could have been avoided! But oh well. It’s a new day. And we are going HIKING! I don’t know why that’s in caps….But I think I am excited about it. Excited because I love being outside tromping through the woods and exploring (I’m still a kid) and seeing all the beautiful sights…but not excited because last time I went hiking (which has been years!) I got a tick. That is the completely most disgusting thing that has ever happened to me in my life! And I FREAKED out! It was SO gross! I thought I was going to die. So I don’t ever in my life EVER want that to happen again! I felt so violated. I would rather see rattlesnakes on this trip than ticks!

Well anyways, I am not going to think about it right now because it’s starting to make me not want to go.
If I survive and get some cool pics, I will post them up here, for sure.

One month till I see Beck, 2 1/2 months till EUROPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I so completely and totally cannot wait!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jaynepomuceno permalink
    March 28, 2009 8:03 am

    I don’t think a #2 seed got them more games. Not if a 10 team bracket is done properly. Both top seeds would get a first round bye. What I don’t get is how #1 and #2 played so early in the tournament. They shouldn’t even be able to meet until the championship (my March madness mentality coming out). Weird.

    The girls were awesome. Fought to the end! Very proud of them. They have a good way of playing like maniacs, but still being ladies about. Love ’em! (But don’t tell anyone, they’ll get big heads)

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    March 28, 2009 8:10 am

    Well, I think they were supposed to go straight to the championship, bypassing the first game that they played. I think…Which means they would have only played one game total? I just wanted to see Montecito get beat! 🙂 But ACA played very well so it was a great game, a heartbreaker at the end though! 😦

  3. March 28, 2009 3:05 pm

    Hope you stay tick-free on your hike. Our older son said there were lots of ticks at summer camp last year. While doing his laundry after he got home, I found one tick crawling on his clothes. Our son promptly got the scissors!

  4. Katie permalink
    March 28, 2009 4:01 pm

    well I hope my friend is still tickless….(ha ha that almost looks like tickles..)so wait if your going to Europe in 21/2 months when will you be back?

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    March 28, 2009 7:36 pm

    Tick free! 🙂
    I’ll be back June 22nd, so I’ll be here when you get here! Yea! Can’t wait to go apartment hunting! 🙂

  6. Becka permalink
    March 30, 2009 7:43 am

    Okay, so I am so excited for you to come! And to go to DC! That’s going to be a busy day. lol Yay!

Leave a Reply

