Skip to content

Remember sour flowers?

March 18, 2009

When I was a kid it was cool to pick these yellow flowers and suck the juice out the end of the stem. Or kinda just chew on the stem. I am not sure who started it, but pretty soon our whole school looked like we were addicted to…sour flowers…all of us with these yellow flowers hanging out of our mouths like some sort of long cigarette. At first I thought it was gross and wouldn’t try them. I mean, they had just been picked out of the dirt…so…they were dirty. Naturally. Over time though, I guess curiosity got the best of me and I eventually tried them. Not bad. A little…sour… Duh…Shoulda known that. Kinda tangy. But not bad for a weed. Not that kind of weed.

Anyways, so the other day when I ran across a huge patch of them in my yard I was instantly transported back 15 years to when I was  a bratty little kid with long stringy hair running all over the PC campus. And to make it worse…there were 3 of us redheaded chicks running around campus wreaking havoc and causing poor Mr. Howse to probably contemplate resigning. Seriously. He was always after us for one thing or another. Skating in the hallways of the admin…Putting up rope swings down in the canyon near the pit…Since I technically only lived up there for 3 months, I wasn’t usually the instigator of most things. I’m gonna blame most of it on Lizzy. 🙂 lol. What fun we had. Climbing trees on the bomb site. lol, that’s what it was called, right? I remember us getting in trouble for that. But Lizzy was 3 years older than me so I definitely looked up to her and did whatever she did. She was so cool. 🙂 Wow. I have so many memories of that place. Beck would have a lot more than me since she actually lived up there for a long time. But I felt like I practically lived up there! We were up there ALL the time! And I loved it! I cried when I learned that it was being sold!! But man, what a kid’s paradise! We had so much fun exploring up there! And we had this totally cool play house down behind Beck’s house on the hillside…And the best rope swing EVER down near the pit. I loved that thing. I remember we had some sort of fort down at the ampitheater and it got attacked by ants so we had to leave… When we actually lived up there my brothers and I made this cool tunnel in the bushes by our house, and then I made wreaths out of the vines that we cut down to create the tunnel. I think I thought I was going to sell them or something…Ha ha, wow. Fun times. I remember being absolutely mesmerized and fascinated by all the “secret” passageways up there. This probably would have been at the height of my Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew phase and at the time I thought it was the coolest thing ever! I remember the secret staircase and revolving wall in the church office buildings. That campus was such an amazing place for us kids to play! Man, I wish I was a kid again. That was fun!! :)I think those of us who practically grew  up up there had the best childhoods ever!!! Ya know?

Ha ha, when they drained that pond they probably found a million things that Tim had thrown in there. ‘Member how he liked throwing things in there? And how we liked picking those sour little plums, or whatever they were… And going behind the chapel to see the gravestones…And playing house in the ‘rock house’? Or taking walks up behind the ballfield and finding all those golf balls from the Via Verde golf course? Or walking down the hill from Billington to go to PC chapel? And someone singing “Oh What a Saviour.” 🙂 lol, awww, I miss that place! Too many memories!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 9:49 am

    I’ve never heard of sour flowers. Perhaps they don’t have them here in the Midwest. 🙂 Sounds like you had a great childhood full of wonderful memories. It’s fun to think back sometimes.

  2. Becka permalink
    March 18, 2009 12:36 pm

    Wow, all those memories! That was just like a walk down memory lane! And I could even feel the sun! Wonderful.

    I have so much to say that I am going to have to write a blog about it! lol

  3. Becka permalink
    March 18, 2009 12:37 pm

    …and that blog will have to come tomorrow since my internet is being stupid.

  4. Becka permalink
    March 18, 2009 12:51 pm

    Yeah, sorry for all the comments, but Lizzy has a kid now (and she’s married, of course), he a year old. Just thought you would like an update. AND I sent her the link to this, so you are now incriminated as blaming her for everything. lol 🙂

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    March 18, 2009 12:54 pm

    HEY! I knew she was married with a kid, but thanks a lot for sending her the link. lol. I only incriminated her bc I knew she would never read it and only like you, me and Renae knew who I was talking about. lol. 🙂

  6. Elizabeth Pate permalink
    March 18, 2009 12:59 pm

    Great memories! I take full blame for pretty much everything we got in trouble for back then 😉 Ahh sour flowers… I remember calling them sour-stems too. I completely agree that campus was the BEST place to grow up! I think of all the amazing freedom we had to explore and pine for the chance to do it all over again… with my boy! Three redheads… yeah, we were quite a clan 🙂

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    March 18, 2009 1:14 pm

    LIZZY!!! One of the awesomest redheads ever!! 🙂 Yep, we definitely had fun up there!! Unfortunately they won’t let people up there anymore. Although I am all for trying to sneak up there by climbing through the bushes and stuff. Anyone with me? That would be awesome!! 🙂 Seriously. That’s on my bucket list now. Try to sneak up to the old PC campus and look around for as long as possible. Of course..there always was all that poisoned ivy all around…don’t know if it’s worth it…

  8. March 18, 2009 2:15 pm

    Wow! I absolutely loved that post! I totally remember Sour Flowers! Everytime I see them I think of campus! Do you remember the dead opossum in the fort behind our house? Man, I must have gotten so much vitamin C from picking oranges and eating them whenever I wanted! Need a snack for school? Pick an orange on the way! I loved the rope swing! One of the things I remember those 3 un-named red-heads for is always ditching me! I think there goal in life was to lose me in the canyon and let the coyotes eat me! 🙂 I seem to recall always ending up at home crying because I got left behind! Hmmm! And i loved the missionary trail and the bombsite, and the city park by Billington, and I could go on forever but I will stop here and write a blog about it someday soon! 🙂

  9. jenmarie permalink*
    March 18, 2009 2:19 pm

    Renae, those unnamed redheads ditched you? I am sure it was never intentional. 😉 Okay…but it wasn’t personal. It just added to the excitement. It was more fun to run around campus if you had someone you were actually running FROM, lol. Sorry it had to be you though.
    Wanna go sneak up on campus with me and look around? I am so going to do that…if someone will come with me! 🙂
    Yep, I remember the dead possum. We couldn’t figure out why the fort smelled so bad…

  10. March 18, 2009 2:21 pm

    I would love to go! I want to take James up there since he has never been so maybe we should all go together! 🙂 We need to do it soon! 🙂 email me and we will plan a day!

  11. jenmarie permalink*
    March 18, 2009 2:22 pm

    Totally. I’m emailing you right now. 🙂

  12. jaynepomuceno permalink
    March 18, 2009 8:02 pm

    I wonder how many biscuits they found when they drained the pond. I’ll have to write a post about that myself…

    I miss the campus too. But it’s a scary thought with Tommy and Ryan in my youth group and all the trouble they would’ve probably gotten themselves into!

  13. jenmarie permalink*
    March 19, 2009 1:31 pm

    Ha ha, yeah, people did tend to get into trouble a lot…Usually for walking the missionary trail by themselves (kids from CBA) but still… 🙂 Tommy and Ryan though? Never. Perfect angels. 🙂
    I have so so many memories of that place. If I sit here and think about them all I will probably start bawling. lol. Fun times…

Trackbacks

  1. Nae’s Heart » A whole campus for a backyard Pt.1

Leave a Reply

