Skip to content

Video Scavenger Hunt 09

March 15, 2009

Video scavenger hunt has been a yearly youth group event for almost as long as I can remember. I suppose technically it’s not really a “scavenger hunt” since we aren’t really looking for anything, but we go out in public and act out and film weird events,etc. and the team with the best videos, acting, etc. wins. My favorite ones are always the ones where we have to do embarrassing things in public. I don’t know why, I guess maybe it’s because you are with a whole group of people who are doing the same embarrassing thing that you are doing. Power in numbers… (I remember having to go to a fast food restaurant and all walk around with straws in our noses one year) Anyways, I have always loved the “crossing the street in a unique way” scene that we have to do at a busy 4 way intersection. I always wonder what the people watching us must think. Yesterday my team put Connor on a plank of wood, doused him with ketchup, and paraded him across the crosswalk. Then we dumped him down a small hill, and when we had a chance to cross the street again, we all chased him back across the street. To make it funnier, SJ dropped her camera halfway across the street, stopped to pick it up, and got run over by Mr. Roland who was right behind her with the plank of wood. He dropped the wood and we were scrambling to pick everything up and get across the street before the light changed again. Of course we were dying laughing the whole time. Oh yeah, the guys had bats that they pretended to hit Connor with. I was sure someone was going to call the cops on us!video-scavenger-hunt-09-015

video-scavenger-hunt-09-023

Filming our detective scene

video-scavenger-hunt-09-026

Eating the pork rinds

video-scavenger-hunt-09-045

Giving the Rollema’s dog CPR in our animal attack turned animal heart attack scene

video-scavenger-hunt-09-031

My favorite picture of the day. I love the face Ben’s making 🙂

We had a lot of fun racing all over town (and wasting lots of time standing around trying to decide what to do next)…going to one store only to decide to go to a different store (we seriously drove all over the place. I don’t think we ever left LaVerne (except for a short trip over the border into Pomona 🙂 ) and yet I managed to use a whole quarter a tank of gas! I guess that shows you how bad it really is to drive fast and make quick starts and stops! (A little driving lesson there) 🙂

My team actually won (we had some pretty lame scenes, but we also did complete all of them, which the other team didn’t, so that helped!)…but either way we had a lot of fun being silly and doing crazy things. Some of our team members have battle scars to prove their participation in the day. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    March 16, 2009 7:27 am

    I LOVED the video scavenger hunts! They were so fun. Although, I do hate it when Jay shows those videos and I am a REALLY loud and obnoxious 9th grader. Eww.. Those should be destroyed. But boy were they fun! Great memories. I loved the year that Brittany got bucked off that horse. Too bad we didn’t get that on film….

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    March 16, 2009 4:36 pm

    Ha ha, yeah, I hated seeing myself in them back then too. I still look dorky in them now, but I don’t care anymore because it’s just the teens watching them. 🙂

    That would have made a great video if you guys had caught it on tape!

Leave a Reply

