Skip to content

This is it….

March 13, 2009

After fifteen years of sports seasons, the last one is almost over. 😦 Tonight is Tommy’s last regular season basketball game. There is still tournament of course, but I can’t usually go to those due to work. Fifteen years. It will feel so strange to not have any more games to go to. It makes me sad. From the time I was ten I have had brothers playing baseball, basketball and football every year. Every summer I still just want to go hang out at the Little League field!  I have such fun memories of hanging out there at practices, games, and tournaments…watching the games, playing pickup games with other siblings of team members…(there’s nothing like the feeling of connecting the sweet spot of the bat with the baseball. Of course there’s nothing like hitting it close up near your hands either, that always stung!)… watching  my littlest brother impress all the other coaches and parents (everyone was sure he was going very far with that talent, they all talked of the big leagues. We still run into them around town and while other teammates are going off to college on scholarships, that wasn’t the direction he wanted to go. Although I did hint that it would be pretty sweet to have a brother in the big leagues 🙂 )…making in-beween-innings runs to the snack bar for pizza, licorice and snow cones…watch the little kids play pickle between the minor and major fields…having crushes on my brothers’ teammates or their older brothers…going to team parties…discovering hummingbird nests in the nearby trees and then seeing the tiny eggs turn into tiny babies… And then of course all the basketball games…Going to city league games where my brothers tore it up. Watching that “cute little blonde boy” who was the smallest on the team, yet he could consistently make several 3s in a row…and all his fancy And1 moves that drove the other teams nuts. I was always so proud of them all! I have never been an athlete, but what I lack they make up for many times over. Now it’s almost over…It was sure fun while it lasted. And it lasted for a while. I can’t even remember what it was like before sports entered our lives way back then. Fun times. Fun memories!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 3:26 pm

    That makes me sad thinking about when all the kids’ sports games will end. Now you’ll have to wait until everyone has kids and go to their games too. 🙂

  2. jaynepomuceno permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:40 pm

    Wow, I’m getting a tinge of sentimentality myself…

  3. March 14, 2009 10:35 am

    I enjoyed watching your brothers and my brother play sports! Tommy is a great player! I missed sports when the season ended also!

  4. Becka permalink
    March 16, 2009 7:23 am

    I know, Jay, me too! lol I only wen to a couple games with you, Jen, but they were fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

