Skip to content

Modern art?

March 9, 2009

I am not a big fan of modern art. Not really a fan at all. In the hallway near our office there are always student art displays on the walls. Last time it was photographs from France, England, and someplace else that I didn’t recognize. That was cool. But this week nailed to the wall are little blocks of wood with newspaper glued to them. And underneath them are written weird sentences like ‘ If I exist it is only out of my disgust at existence’ and ‘I have no friends. Is that why my face is flat?’ and ‘As the thoughts stretched, I then knew things that are entirely what they appear.’  (there are many more, I just can’t remember them all) Weird. And the “art” is pretty ugly. Usually the art on the walls makes me smile as I walk by. But not when they have “modern art” up on the walls.

 

 I remember my one and only visit to a modern art museum. The family was up in San Francisco on vacation and we had purchased city passes that included entrances to various attractions. One of those passes was for SFMOMA. So we were like “okay, well, we might as well go in since we already have passes.” I think my favorite “display” was an empty room that they were in the process of painting to look like a jungle. The walls were all being painted with leaves. That was cool. But everything else was pretty weird. There was also this totally empty room with wood floors. In the middle of the room there was a tiny hole, about the size of a dime, in the floor. When you looked in it, there was a tiny screen that kept showing the same thing over and over again. It was of a girl crying for help, like she had fallen down into a hole. So of course my brothers thought it would be funny to just put their foot over the hole so then it looked like there was no exhibit in the room. The “room monitor” (volunteer staff) didn’t think it was so funny. I am surprised that we actually left the museum of our own free will and were not thrown out. Imagine a family of modern art skeptics, five of which are male, parading around a musuem of modert art…yeah… They also told us at the entrance that we couldn’t take cameras in and that photos were not allowed. I am sure they just didn’t want anyone to be able to take with them proof of just exactly how strange their exhibits were. Seriously. One of the exhibits was a pile of trash. Anyways, so of couse I decided that I was not going to leave my camera at the front desk to possibly be gone when I came back, and I was also going to see if I could get away with taking a picture. I know, I was such a rebel. We had it all figured out. I went into the elevator, pushed the “down” button, and then as the doors closed, I snapped a picture of a big, metal spider and the doors closed and the elevator carried me safely to the floor before, just as one of those ubiquitous room monitors started after me. I could see her coming as the doors closed… Ha ha, I got my picture. Cheap thrills, I know. But anyways, seriously, modern art just doesn’t do it for me. I think it falls into the catergory of things that I just don’t “get.” Like skinny jeans. I will never understand them. They are not flattering on anyone. I don’t care who you are. You do not look good in skinny jeans. (But especially if you tend to be on the larger side.) Maybe skinny jeans are supposed to be modern art. lol

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:32 am

    lol I hate modern art and skinny jeans too.

  2. zaza permalink
    March 10, 2009 12:49 pm

    maybe skinny jeans were inspired by modern art! (or vice versa)

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    March 10, 2009 7:16 pm

    Yeah, it’s a vicious cycle. They feed off of each other. 🙂

  4. jaynepomuceno permalink
    March 11, 2009 10:05 am

    A couple years ago we went to the Getty Center. It was retarded. The architecture, landscaping and views are quite impressive, but too much of the art is just perverse. We had to resort to Brenna previewing each room before me and the kids walked in.

    I’m considering skinny jeans for the next ugly banquet!

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    March 11, 2009 10:14 am

    That’s true…my mom did the same thing when we were at SFMOMA…and we finally just left.

    If you wear skinny jeans to the ugly banquet I am not going! 🙂

  6. Traci permalink
    March 11, 2009 6:55 pm

    Perhaps skinny jeans are a form of modern art!
    In Boston, one of the art exhibits was of a whole bunch of mannequins with all kinds of different heads–Barbie doll heads, puppet heads, ventriloquist dummy heads, etc. Very strange!
    We liked the giant metal spider in the Denver art museum though. It was big enough for the children to stand under it.

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    March 12, 2009 10:52 am

    That’s funny about the mannequins. Mannequins in general are really weird these days. I am always amazed when I am at the mall and I see intentionally headless mannequins, bright red mannequins…I love the PC mannequins that are in wheelchairs, lol. Haven’t seen too many of those though.

    So there is more than one giant metal spider huh? Or maybe he is just making the rounds…

  8. jaynepomuceno permalink
    March 12, 2009 12:19 pm

    What’s missing are mannequins on crutches and a to’e up ankle.

Leave a Reply

