Skip to content

You gotta love books

March 5, 2009

Over the course of working in 3 different libraries for over 9 years I have seen many, many weird book titles along the way! I wish I had written them all down, but here are just a few that I ran across the other day. They made me laugh. Well, the second title I was like “are they really serious?” I guess if we can’t get teens to read real literature, we can just reassign genre classification and now they are reading “literature.”

HOW TO READ SUPERHERO COMICS AND WHY

THIS BOOK CONTAINS GRAPHIC LANGUAGE: COMICS AS LITERATURE.

THY WILL BE DONE: PRAYING THE OUR FATHER AS SUBVERSIVE ACTIVITY

WHAT COULD HE BE THINKING: HOW A MAN’S MIND REALLY WORKS

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    March 5, 2009 2:25 pm

    I think it is funny when you see a title and think, “Why in the world would anyone need that book?”

    I did see a health book today called HOW NOT TO DIE. lol Just “eating healthy” isn’t going to keep you alive. You are going to die eventually, so I thought that was a dumb title.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    March 6, 2009 9:57 am

    lol, yeah, there are some really crazy books out there… 🙂

  3. Traci permalink
    March 6, 2009 2:28 pm

    We have a book cover with the title Lean Thinking on our microwave at work right now. 🙂
    It’s a business book, but we liked the title for its other connotations.
    I love creative book titles–the ones that make me want to check out the book and read it right away.

Leave a Reply

