Skip to content

My second post today

February 20, 2009

When I started this blog I promised myself it was never going to become my life. It was a hobby, that’s it. My life would exist outside of cyberspace, and not in it. My online life would not rival my real life, only portray small glimpses of it. I would not spend  my life updating my profile. Okay, that’ll preach. I was not going to become one of them…And here I am posting again…on the same day. Sigh. What is becoming of me? I am losing my grip on reality. Sliding over the edge into the world of cyberfreaks. As if you all care so much about my life that I am updating my “profile/status” yet again (okay, not really, but you get the idea).

Okay, just kidding. Actually, I was originally supposed to be on my way to a friend’s house right now, but our best laid plans got waylaid and now we aren’t leaving till the AM. So, that left me with a delightfully unencumbered amount of free time (okay, I spend way too much time dealing with funds – unencumbered or otherwise –  these days. Not my funds, sad to say. Those rarely even visit me for small amounts of time anymore). Free time! I just love the sound of it.  Anyways, so after spending some time on fabulous pursuits like the cleaning of the clothes and washing of the dishes…I decided to sit back and savor the fact that, yes, indeed, we are really headed to some pretty fab places in less than four months!  After months and months of requesting brochures, poring over brochues, calling travel agents in faraway places like Texas, requesting quotes, comparing airfare,  well, you get the idea, we are actually going. We are going!!! I still can’t believe it. The only downside is that I have yet to hear from work as far as if I can have the time off. That is a slight problem. I hope they aren’t too disappointed if I quit over a “request denied” email. And, another slight problem. Uncle Sam got wind of my plans and decided that if I was going to be throwing my money at foreign countries, he too wanted a piece of it. In fact, he wanted all of it. I don’t know who told him about my plans, but he has quite a knack for putting a damper on things. But we aren’t going to think about that right now. 🙂

When I first set foot in London, I knew that I definitely wanted to go back there someday! I fell absolutely in love with it. It was everything I expected it to be, and more. But I had no idea that less than two years later I would be back! Yea!! I can’t wait! Super super excited!

It’s not the original tour that I wanted, but it’s cheaper so it’s probably a good thing considering Uncle Sam… It will still be fabulous! Some of the places we’ll see are : London, Paris, Venice, Switzerland, Austria, Germany and Belgium. Can’t say that Belgium has ever been on my “top places to see” list, but it’s included in the trip so…The fam wants me to bring them home Belgian chocolates. Seems when Loic was here he brought them some and they adored it. But since they ate it all themselves, and never shared any with me…should I really bring them back some? 🙂  I didn’t even know it had existed until after the fact. I am not sure how well chocolate will hold up after being carted around the country(ies) for days. Belgium is our first stop after we leave London! 🙂 Anyhow…wow…can’t wait!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 20, 2009 7:27 pm

    Belgium is so up there on my list of Euro places to see. Greece would be tops. Please have some pommes frites for me. And how ’bout a deal, I won’t post any old skewl pics of you for six months if you promise to bring back some Belgian chocolates for me and Brenna. Old skewl meaning anything before your senior year.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    February 20, 2009 7:37 pm

    6 months? Make it 9 and it’s a deal. 🙂 Although I think my senior year counts as old skewl too, that was 8 years ago!

    Greece is way up there on my list too!!

  3. February 20, 2009 8:07 pm

    Sounds like a fun plan! My cousin spent a year in Europe and brought us some delicious Belgian chocolates. I think they travel well.

  4. February 20, 2009 9:36 pm

    Jay you should plan a missions trip to Belgium! I know some really great missionaries in Brugge on the Holland/Belgium border! Jen, I hope you have a great time!

  5. Becka permalink
    February 21, 2009 10:00 am

    lol Renae. Belgium is expensive! lol 🙂

    Fun, fun. 🙂 Hope you get rich soon so I can go with you. lol J/K Hmm… I wonder how i can get in on the “no old skewl for 9 months deal?” lol

  6. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 21, 2009 1:03 pm

    Jen, how ’bout 8 months and we’ll make your Senior Year as old skewl status. I’ll even settle for swiss chocolates.

    Becka, I’m sure we can work out some type of blackmail-ehem-deal. But Delaware is really internationally known for it’s chocolates or anything…

  7. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 21, 2009 1:04 pm

    Check that: Delaware ISN’T internationally known for…

  8. Jane permalink
    February 22, 2009 2:09 pm

    Ooh, Jen when you go to Belgium bring me back some waffles!!! Although I don’t know if I have any bargaining chips. . . .

  9. jenmarie permalink*
    February 22, 2009 7:57 pm

    Lisa – thanks for the info. A year in Europe sounds amazing! Wow.

    Jay – lol, 8 months…okay, but yeah, then it has to be Swiss chocolates, if we’re going to be compromising… 🙂 Delaware has Amish people. Want an Amish quilt? Beck could send you one of those. lol, those are really expensive! Although not as expensive as traveling to Europe just to buy Swiss and Belgian chocolate so…. 🙂

    Jane – I will definitely bring you back waffles. lol. My mom has a “Belgian Waffle maker” I wonder if they taste the same… I know they turn out different than regular waffles…

  10. Becka permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:41 am

    lol well, Jay, I guess the pics aren’t that bad. And of course DE isn’t internationally known for anything. Most people don’t even know where it is located! It is the second smallest state (but thankfully the fifth from being the smallest in population). lol Of course, we have a mean Pumpkin Chunkin. lol

    Jen, Thanks for sticking up for me. We do have all kinds of cool Amish stuff. I wish I could post it, but just a week ago, I saw an Amish buggy and horse tied to the light pole in the Kohl’s parking lot! I don’t exactly know why the Amish would be at Kohl’s….. it was right in the middle of Dover too. Hmmm… I wonder how long it took them to get there?

Leave a Reply

