Skip to content

Interesting quote

February 19, 2009

Probably about a year ago Hannah and I had talked about doing some writing…I had really wanted to write a book and she mentioned that she wanted to do some writing too, so we looked into it a little and bought several books to read and see what was already out there on the subject…and that’s as far as we got. 🙂 I didn’t even read all the books that I bought! I got busy and then shortly thereafter I moved back home and now we hardly even see each other. But anyways, so the other day I dug out one of the books I had bought on Amazon (it’s really just a pamphlet that I thought was going to be a book when I bought it – sometimes when you buy things online you just never know…like that Giants necklace that I bought…lol) Anyways, it’s by Nancy Leigh DeMoss, who is a fabulous writer, I love her books! It’s called “Cultivating a Pure Heart: Becoming a  Woman of Discretion in a Sensual World” and it’s really good. Super short, only 35 pages  unfortunately, but I guess it’s just one chapter out of one of her books called “Biblical Womanhood in the Home.” Anyways, in this pamphlet she quotes John Adams, and I thought that the quote was pretty interesting. She quotes him as saying (taken from The Words of John Adams, Second President of the United States..etc…etc – the title is really long) “From all that I have read of history and government and human life and manners, I have drawn this conclusion: that the manners of women were the most infallible barometer to ascertain the degree of morality and virtue of a nation. The Jews, the Greeks, the Romans, the Swiss, the Dutch, all lost their public spirit and their republican forms of government when they lost the modesty and domestic virtues of their women.”

Just a thought.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    February 20, 2009 10:50 am

    Wow. That quote is really thought provoking and sadly true.

  2. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 20, 2009 7:30 pm

    “Wow” is right.

Leave a Reply

