Skip to content

Volunteering

February 18, 2009

Today was my second day volunteering at the pregnancy center and it was really interesting! Last time I was mostly reading the manual and taking a test of sorts. That was pretty boring, but today I got to shadow one of the other client advocates (that’s what we are called) who has been there for a while and that was really neat. I had no idea I would be doing as much as I will be doing (once I am trained)!! We processed a new patient and did all that goes along with that. I have absolutely no medical experience whatsoever, so it was all new to me! It was also the first time I had ever seen an ultrasound done.  I have to confess that when people have shown me their ultrasounds, I haven’t been real impressed. It just always looked like a fuzzy black and grey blur. And they say things like “look at his feet, aren’t they cute?” And I am just like “it all looks black to me, how can you tell those are supposed to be feet?” But I have a much greater respect for ultrasound technology now. Even if it still looks insanely fuzzy and I still have no idea how nurses know what they are looking at. The girl we had (not me, I was just watching, but she was ‘our’ patient) was not very far along in her pregnancy, so they had a really hard time finding the heartbeat. We were able to see it beating (finally!) but they weren’t able to get any sound on it. They said that since we could see the heart beating, that we should then have also been able to hear it, but we never were really able to hear it. One of the nurses said she could hear it faintly, but it didn’t show up on the screen.  Anyhow, they told the girl to come back in two weeks and we will redo the ultrasound. The baby was around 6 weeks old, and just a tiny white dot on the screen. It was pretty hard to see! But the bf/father of baby was really excited. He stood there almost the whole time with his jaw dropped, staring at the screen. It was a really fun experience, definitely a learning experience since I am not medically inclined at all. The whole start to finish time with that one girl was about 2 hours. They are really thorough with them and explain everything carefully, how often to take the vitamins/iron, etc…What services are available for them and how to get signed up, etc – seems better than even going to the regular doctor where they have you in and out asap.

 I think I am really going to enjoy volunteering there!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. aleassa permalink
    February 19, 2009 11:09 am

    Wow! That is so cool! What kind of a place is it? Is it like a crisis pregnancy center or something?

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    February 19, 2009 11:21 am

    Yes, it’s a crisis pregnancy center! 🙂

  3. February 19, 2009 6:42 pm

    That’s a neat service and ministry opportunity.

  4. Becka permalink
    February 20, 2009 7:30 am

    That is so cool!

  5. Jane permalink
    February 20, 2009 10:53 am

    My dad used to direct a crisis pregnancy center in the High Desert, and my mom was a consultant there, so I spent much of my time there as a kid! It’s such a great ministry!

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    February 20, 2009 4:35 pm

    Wow Jane, that’s so cool. I don’t think I knew that!

Leave a Reply

