Skip to content

Boy drama

February 17, 2009

Ha ha, just kidding. But seriously though…I met a friend for coffee after work last night, for what I thought was just an innocent get together since she’s been wanting to do it for forever.  This is where if you are single you are supposed to start getting suspicious. I guess. But I didn’t know better. I do now. Mercifully, no, she did not show up with some unattached single guy. Not yet. But she’s working on it. And that is what I did not expect. Not from anyone (except Heather, and Sarah, and Antonia, and Becka, and Grace, and Tommy (Tommy just wants me to get married so he can have nieces and nephews. But I told him he can kiss that notion goodbye. I am pretty sure that my calling in life is not to “be fruitful and multiply” but to “travel the world and see as many amazing sights as you can see.”), but other than that…), and certainly not from CC (no, none of you know her). We were having our tea (her) and blueberry crumb cake (me) and chatting about the latest books we have read (she loves comparing books and all that, and since that’s how we met, I guess it’s fitting) when out of the middle of nowhere she throws a curveball that I did not see coming! If I hadn’t been so shocked, I might have been mortified. She wants to hook me up with her husband’s old friend. Now, this is the part that I am actually used to. Yes, if you are single, everyone and their mom will think they have the perfect guy for you (they never do, unfortunately, because if they did, I would definitely take him. I mean, the perfect guy! Has one ever even been spotted?)!!! (because of course if you are single it means you are desperately pining away to be married to someone, anyone, and they have the perfect solution!!!). I hate to break it to the rest of the population out there, but there are probably more than a few single people out there who are not pining away to be married, and who are certainly not desperate… But I digress… So our seemingly innocent coffee date turned into some sort of compatibility interview, which was quite amusing and slightly embarrassing. I mean, really, you want me to tell you about me so you can go tell your husband so he can tell his friend. And his name is Will. Which I thought was funny since that makes two “Wills” that people have wanted to hook me up with. Although in the other case it was a ten year old girl trying to hook me up, and that was certainly interesting! Seriously, have you ever had a kid tell you they found someone for you? And then….yeah, let’s just say it was weird. Ha ha. But I am not sure about that one… This one though, she is really serious! And I am a little worried. She asked me if it mattered what he looked like! That should be a big warning right there. CHARITY CASE!!! Seriously…I mean, it really doesn’t matter to me much what a guy looks like anymore. It used to. I couldn’t imagine marrying an ugly guy. But then all my friends did it and so I am like ‘”if they can do it, I can do it!” lol, I’m JUST KIDDING FRIENDS! Don’t be all hatin’ on me now! 🙂 But seriously, I am so totally done with handsome guys! Sure they can make you feel beautiful just by virtue of being with them, but how beautiful do you feel when they are off flirting with the next girl? Yeah, not so much. So bring on the ugly guys. Lol, I know guys like to tease us about being all “well he has a good heart” when it comes to guys, but it’s so true!! Tall, dark , and handsome? Nope, short, pale and ugly. lol, I’m teasing. But your priorities do change after you’ve been on this crazy planet for a while.  (No more freaks need apply though.) I told her that it didn’t matter to me (too much 🙂 ) what a guy looked like as long as he loved the Lord. (That usually weeds them all out so it really doesn’t matter what they looked like anyways) – That was kinda awkward…”um, you are the one who thinks I should get together with him, not me, so…but now I get a say in the matter? Like maybe yeah, maybe it does matter what he looks like, then what? lol…sigh…Whatever happened to arranged marriages? That would make it all so much simpler. Ha ha, right. Like I would let my dad pick out my husband! Seriously, I would totally trust him if it weren’t for his bad track record in this area! Trust me, the few of you who know what I’m talking about know I’m right! Right?

So anyways, it was interesting.  Sigh. Boys, who needs them when you have London and Paris to hang out with? 😉

But seriously though, I know she means well. I think anyways. I don’t even know her that well so maybe I shouldn’t think that. Maybe she has a devious side to her that I just haven’t seen. They usually do if they are trying to marry you off. I think it’s the fact that they are jealous of your freedom. Or something…Ha ha, don’t be hatin’ on us single people and trying to trick us, we know better than that, that’s why we’re still single, duh!! 🙂

I know, I’m such a man hater, huh? Sigh. I’m really not. I love guys. They smell good if they wear cologne and they can kill spiders. What’s not to love about that? Oh yeah, they can open jars too. Seriously, I am trying to remember how I opened my jars in Wisconsin because there sure weren’t any boys livin’ in that apartment. Maybe visiting, but not living. 😉  I don’t know, but we must have gotten them open because we never did starve to death. So maybe boys aren’t needed for opening jars,  but it’s still a nice character trait anyways.  Random side thought…if women are really supposed to be the ones doing all the cooking, why are all jars so ridiculously hard to open? Is it really just so that guys feel needed? Maybe it’s because they are the ones who are supposed to be in the kitchen… Just a thought…

Anyways, I will def keep you all posted if anything happens. I don’t even know why I didn’t tell her to forget the whole idea. This is def not like me at all! No seriously, it’s not. Have I ever gone out with a guy just because he asked me? Or because someone else wanted me to? No, duh!  But at least now I can check off that “been on a blind date” thing from the bucket list forward that Becka sent me. Well, almost. Maybe. 🙂

Lol, I got two free energy drinks today. Does that explain anything? (Okay, that really has nothing to do with anything because I didn’t drink them)

Woo hoo, the girls wupped Banning and the guys did too. Sigh. Revenge. It’s so sweet. Especially if you can make people cry. Ha ha, just kidding. I don’t miss High School. Well kinda, but you know what I mean. It’s all so dramaaaatic!  (She said whaaat? She did not!)  I love drama as long as it does not affect me in any way, shape or form! Okay, maybe I don’t love it. But it’s tolerable. I don’t even remember any drama from when I was in High School. It must not have been that dramatic. Or else I have completely blocked it from my mind.

Okay, I will shut up now. But seriously, there is no one in this house to talk to.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Juan permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:14 pm

    I have a friend named Marcos; he’s a really nice guy. I can introduce you to him if you want; he’s a really nice guy. You’ll get to practice your sign language too.

  2. Antonia permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:16 pm

    Hey, what about Jeff? Have you ran into him yet? It’s just a matter of time.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    February 17, 2009 9:25 pm

    Ha ha, oh shut up, “Juan.” lol, I should have put your name on that list too, I forgot about those guys… Evil. Although it’s sweet of them to “fight” over me. Makes me feel special. Even if it’s only bc I’m white and they want a white chick…or a green card…lol. I already told you…we have to at least speak the same language (sign language aside)…lol, but if you are really so good at finding the nice guys then you know where you can find me some more…US citizens preferrably. 🙂

    Tonia – lol, every time I see a guy with a lip ring, I ask him his name. Totally kidding. Nope, haven’t run into him yet. lol, but I’m pretty sure he’s not my type. Just kinda get that feeling. But it’s sweet of your hubby to be on the lookout for me… 🙂 It’s the thought that counts, right? lol, I would offer a prize to the person who finds him for me, but then I will really be inundated. But then again, if people were really trying…because they wanted a prize…maybe we could start getting some quality material here. lol…

  4. Becka permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:58 am

    Oh man, there is so much to comment in here that I don’t know where to start. lol First, I was the one who opened the jars, remember? That’s why we didn’t starve. Matt rarely opens jars for me, so you don’t need a man for that. 🙂 Just learn the technique.

    Totally lol about the whole “Does it matter what he looks like” bit. I was cracking up. Man, ppl! If you are going to set someone up, at least you should think the other person is attractive. 🙂 lol

    lol about the blind date – maybe.

    Okay, so yesterday my coworkers were talking about this “perfect guy” and then I found out that he was divorced and had drinking problems in the past. LOL! Ummm…. PERFECT??? I think not.

    I would go for the offering a prize thing – ppl might take it too seriously and send you EVERY available guy. That totally wouldn’t work. 🙂 lol

  5. Becka permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:59 am

    I meant “wouldn’t go for the offering a prize.” oops!

  6. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 18, 2009 7:15 am

    Jen, I know the perfect guy! Okay, he has a glass eyeball, but at least he has most of most of his teeth. Let me know…

  7. February 18, 2009 10:51 am

    I seem to remember sitting outside of the auditorium with Beck, and Miriam! We had some acronym for the traits we wanted in a guy! 🙂 Pastor would always tease us about Donald! lol I really enjoyed your post although I do think the energy drinks affected you!

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    February 18, 2009 11:10 am

    Beck, did you open the jars? Oh yeah, I guess so. Actually I can open them if I have that little bottle opener thing where you break the seal on the jar…but last night I couldn’t find it… I was like “I’m pretty sure David is not going to come up here to open this jar for me”…I was so proud of myself when I got it opened. 🙂
    And yeah, see what I mean? People have pretty low standards of ‘perfect.’ lol, thanks Jay. I think I would take the deaf Spanish speaker though over a guy with half his teeth gone. I mean, if those are my only choices…lol…
    The only person who has ever tried to hook me up with decent guys was actually Rich. Believe it or not. He really picked out some good ones that he thought I would be good with…well, one at least. But that guy already had a gf. But I was pretty impressed that Rich was actually trying and not just finding dorky guys who he felt bad for! Like everyone else…lol

  9. aleassa permalink
    February 19, 2009 11:22 am

    Hey, I have a couple of brothers who are still single…just a thought, LOL! James is already dating a redhead, so that leaves Philip…hmmm…

  10. Alberto permalink
    February 19, 2009 6:02 pm

    I’m available.

  11. Hector Martinez permalink
    February 19, 2009 6:03 pm

    yo también.

  12. jenmarie permalink*
    February 19, 2009 8:41 pm

    Alberto and Hector hmmm? It’s interesting how the link that your comments comes from is a usafa link…it’s so ironic bc I have a brother there…maybe you’ve met him? 🙂

  13. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 19, 2009 10:02 pm

    Jenny and Filly… hmmm… I can see that happening.

  14. Becka permalink
    February 20, 2009 7:27 am

    Can’t see the Jen and Filly thing. lol They didn’t get along the greatest in HS. lol Thinking about that makes me laugh though! lol

  15. aleassa permalink
    February 20, 2009 7:36 am

    It would definitely be a match for the history books, haha!

  16. jenmarie permalink*
    February 20, 2009 9:44 am

    Umm, lol, thanks guys…
    Yeah, lol we definitely didn’t get along the greatest in HS, but we’re cool now. lol. Not THAT cool though. 🙂

  17. Jane permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:05 am

    Jen, I totally agree with you about what guys are good for (especially the cologne, more guys should wear it). But don’t leave out the whole opening doors thing. That’s a plus, too. Especially when you’re in windy Lancaster carrying an arm full of books and the wind is trying to pull your skirt over your head and you have to open a heavy door. Guys are good for a few things, but over-all they’re not so cool as they think! 🙂 We girls with brothers will be the first to say that, eh?

Leave a Reply

