Skip to content

Dog drama

February 16, 2009

Last night as I sat down to read my Bible for a few minutes before heading to bed (okay, not my main devos people), the whole house was dark except for the one light I was reading by, when I heard my dogs go crazy by the gate at the entrance to our driveway. I wasn’t sure what it was, but they were definitely in a fight with something/one. I clicked off the light and looked out the window, but I couldn’t really see much. I opened the window and called for my dogs…only Princess came and jumped at the window. Then I could see two big dogs on Puppy. Puppy, poor thing, is getting old. (She was born on my 16th birthday if that tells you anything…we’re both getting old) I was afraid she would get hurt, and besides that, I really wasn’t feeling up to a midnight visit to the vet. I could hear the other owner calling his dogs, but he wasn’t doing anything. His dogs were two beautiful malamutes who were tied together, but no leash. I went out to the backyard and called my dogs to try and separate them, and all four dogs came! I really wasn’t up to a midnight hospital visit either. So I went back inside and tried to call my dogs in the house, thinking that maybe then the other guy could come in the backyard and get his dogs. (Dream on, he wasn’t about to do anything. He should have had them on a leash in the first place…) So I am standing there in the open doorway and all four dogs are just looking at each other. The other dogs looked friendly enough, but I remembered from when we had that kind of dog that they will just stand there and look at you until you get close, then you can get attacked if they are mad! So I walked outside to try and pull my dogs inside and that just made my dogs try to “protect” me and start going after the other dogs again! Sheesh. I don’t even remember how I got them separated, I think the other dogs turned to go, with my dogs in pursuit, and I was able to lock my dogs in the patio so at least they were all separated (even though the other dogs were still in the backyard.) The malamutes trotted down the driveway and off into the night as my dogs came flying into the house, sniffing everywhere as if the dogs had come into the house. I am like “you just want to be inside huh?” They were in such a frenzied state, running all over the house and all wet, so it was hard to get them to calm down so I could check and see if they were okay!  Anyways, that was interesting.

p7210035

Puppy and Princess

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:29 am

    lol Sounds like an interesting night.

  2. rufeo permalink
    February 17, 2009 6:36 pm

    your poor dogs. Sorry that you had to break up a dog fight… is it times like those that you wish your brothers lived in the front house?

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    February 17, 2009 6:44 pm

    Yeah Ruth…and also when we have spiders…Tom thinks I’m too dramatic when we have spiders and he doesn’t want to kill them for me. He will do it though. But not with the right attitude! (“Yes, of course my wonderful sister, I would love to kill the spider for you. Anything else I can do for you?” Yeah, not so much) Sometimes I even have to kill my own spiders! Can you believe that? Ha ha, remember that moth we had at the dorm? That was so gross!

  4. Jane permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:09 am

    Oh my, my bro does the same thing! I thought guys liked to be the hero, and feel needed! But I guess not for sisters, only for pretty girls (well, of course we fall into that category, but relations don’t count). For another girl, he’s all over it! The big strong protector! But for me, I have to suck it up! So rude!

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    February 20, 2009 4:36 pm

    lol, maybe when we have spiders and such we can call each other’s brothers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

