Skip to content

Chocolate chip cherry cupcakes

February 13, 2009

Instead of getting Monday off work, I had today off, which was perfect since I have family in town!! And a party to get ready for! So this morning I headed to Rancho with my grandparents for a tour of David’s work (Chick Tract Publications – I had been there before, but they hadn’t. If you haven’t seen it, you should. Pretty interesting!). Then we headed to Ontario Mills to shop. They kept trying to get me to shop, but I told them I knew better than that. I never seem to have a problem finding things to buy and if I go in the store…Nope, gotta save up to pay the taxes!! Unfortunately…And hopefully still have money for a vacation! But they convinced me to shop, and then bought everything for me so that was fun! 🙂 Then at one of those little kiosk shops in the middle of the mall, one of the guys wanted to straighten my hair (of course he just wanted to sell his product, which I promised I was not going to buy). I laughed and told him that he didn’t know what he was getting into (my hair was all clipped up so you couldn’t see how long it was)  but he convinced me to let him do it, so I did. Free hair straightening, can’t beat it. He kinda burned my ear, but oh well, at least he straightened the whole thing and didn’t leave me with half a head of curls!

This morning before we left for the mall I made the cupcakes for tomorrow and a lasagna for dinner! 🙂 I haven’t baked in the longest time, although I do make dinner a few times a week for the family. When I was a kid my mom would always try to teach me to cook and I hated it! I thought “if this is what you have to do when you grow up then I never want to grow up and I certainly don’t want to get married and have to cook for someone!! I just couldn’t imagine having to do that every day for the rest of my life. Nope, I would rather be outside playing with the boys. Even as a teenager I hated cooking. I liked baking okay though. But when I moved to Wisconsin, I fell in love with cooking. I have no idea why, but I just loved it. I think it’s the whole “having your own kitchen” thing. And then I found someone willing to sample all my baking so it was perfect. I experimented with so many different recipes/ideas. Some turned out really awful! (red velvet cookies with cherry chips? Terrible! I threw all of them away!) But most of it turned out decent!  If you would have told me 5/10 years ago that I would someday love cooking, I would have thought you were nuts!  Not that I am good at it, but I do like it now!

 

 

cupcakes-002

Ha ha, we’ll see if these taste good. I kinda experimented with the frosting…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 13, 2009 8:37 pm

    Cooking is awesome and baking can be a nice little hobby. But you’ve got to get your grill skills down! Join the BBQ revolution!

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    February 14, 2009 10:17 am

    Ha ha, nope. I know my limits…
    Well…I have made hamburgers with my little George Foreman inside grill. 🙂 That was in Wisconsin where no one could grill outside… But other than that…yeah, I need to branch out a little…one step at a time though, I’m just happy that I enjoy cooking now. 🙂

  3. aleassa permalink
    February 16, 2009 7:13 am

    Yum! Those look delicious! I have to say, one of my new year’s resolutions this year is to learn to cook from scratch and ENJOY it! My problem is that I don’t think about the next meal until it is like 10 minutes before, so I just open up a bunch of cans, or stick some frozen stuff in the microwave…usually turns out okay, but not exactly GOOD for you…

    Your blog is so fun to read!

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    February 16, 2009 9:11 am

    Hey Aleassa,
    Well, I must confess that these are just a box cake mix. 🙂 So they were pretty easy, I just put chocolate chips in the mix, and then whipped cream cheese and whipped cream to make the frosting.

    Yeah, if I didn’t plan ahead my meals, I would be lost. I can’t do last minute cooking very well!

  5. Becka permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:11 am

    Yummmm… most of the stuff you made was amazing – but I don’t think I was actually the one you were referring to. The only thing I remember disliking was the Chili – only because it had to be the hottest chili I have ever had! Jen is a great cook!

  6. Becka permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:12 am

    Oh, wait. lol Aleassa, I am so totally the same way. The farthest ahead I think is getting the meat out of the freezer and even then, I change my mind and HAVE to use it the next day! lol

  7. Jane permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:13 am

    What? These weren’t made from scratch? Now I’m so disappointed! JK, they were really good! So cute it was like a party to eat it…whoop whoop!

Leave a Reply

